What to Wear on a Long Flight

Well, today is the day! We are off for our Spanish holiday and I am sharing with you what to wear on a long flight. As we will be spending time in 3 airports over about 26 hours of flying, it’s important to get it right.

Both airports and airplanes tend to be cold and as we are leaving from the cold and arriving somewhere warmer, the keys are layering and comfort.

Layered Look for the Flight

Layered Look for the Flight

Layering for the Flight: I have on a long t-shirt/jersey striped skirt, underneath I have on a pair of black leggings to help keep my legs warm during the flight (sorry, I forgot to get a pick so you could see them but they are basic black). On top I have a long-sleeved t-shirt in taupe and a light-weight black cardigan. These colours match the skirt and continue with the layering and comfortable keys. Also important is the fact that these pieces are all made out of material with a bit of give/stretch and won’t end up looking a wrinkled mess at the end of a long flight. As I can never remember which airports still require you to remove your shoes going through security (I think the US may be the only one), I have opted to wear a simple pair of ballet flats. They will slip on and off easily enough and be comfortable for walking around the airports. Rather than wear a necklace I have on a large graphic print scarf. It adds a pop of colour to my outfit, will keep my neck and shoulders warm during the flight and if I need an extra blanket, it’s plenty beg enough. I am using my red Guess handbag for the flight as it was making the trip anyway and takes up a lot of room in the luggage, plus I can carry a fair few travel necessities in it.

What to Wear for a long Flight

What to Wear for a long Flight

What I'm Wearing on the Plane

What I’m Wearing on the Plane

 

Simple Jewelry for the Flight

Simple Jewelry for the Flight

Simple Jewelry: I mentioned yesterday that I am keeping jewelry to a minimum for this trip. What I have on is the rest of what I am taking with me. My wedding and engagement ring and my rose gold Marc by Marc Jacobs watch that the Fashion Mister gave me for my birthday on the left hand. On the right I have a copper Aztec chain bracelet, two copper bangles and a brown and white bangle. I have cut my nails short and painted them in a pale colour (Ballet Slipper Pink by Napoleon Perdis) to keep the maintenance low. The toes are a brighter colour, which I am sure you will see in the happy holiday snaps. I am also wearing my silver and rose gold ball earrings to complete the look.

Keeping Jewelry simple for the Flight

Keeping Jewelry simple for the Flight

What's in My Bag for the Flight

What’s in My Bag for the Flight

What’s in My Bag: Here’s a quick look at what is in my bag for the flight. Sunglasses (in the case), my android tablet, the passport and international driver’s license. The clear bag has flight necessities – deodorant, small perfume, lipstick, eyeliner and bronzer plus lotion. I find these are the must haves for departing a plane and looking reasonable after a long flight. Qantas always provides a disposable toothbrush and tooth paste so I don’t need it on the plane. I’m also lucky to have naturally curly hair because a little waterΒ  brings it back to life. Also in the bag is my wallet, two pairs of disposable earplugs – huge necessity if I plan to sleep (Qantas also always provides eye shades – which I use). There are kleenex – just in case, my boarding pass and a magazine for the plane, plus my favourite Juicy Tube gloss by Lancome‘. Also in my bag will be the camera and a pair of socks to wear on the plane (must keep the tootsies warm).

Well, that’s it! Over the next couple of days some lovely people have offered to write guest posts and then I have a few things planned for you. I’ll do my best to give you a couple of Spanish Inspired updates and return with lot’s of good stories and photos to share!

Hope you enjoyed my version of what to wear on a long flight! What do you wear when travelling?

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

60 responses to “What to Wear on a Long Flight

  • L

    Great idea on wearing a maxi shirt with leggings for the flight. I usually end up wearing my LuluLemon yoga pants and ballet flats but I think I might switch it up and try to look a bit more fashionable and a bit less athletic in the future πŸ™‚ Safe travels

  • TinLizzie72

    I agree, the knit maxi skirt is a great and comfy idea. I usually try to dress nicely, but I always need pockets for stuff. And a huge scarf is a must for all the reasons you mention. I have three flights coming up at the end of the year, now I’m inspired to start thinking about what I’ll wear for those! Three totally different climates/destinations means three totally different looks, yippee! Happy travels!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Pockets would be great but I never have them in spots that are efficient so I find a large handbag works…plus I have the Fashion Mister and usually end up haning him something to keep in his pockets. πŸ™‚ Three trips?! Sounds like you ahve a lot of planning to do as this year is almost over.
      Thanks for your well wishes.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • leblogdemarie

    Great ideas here! Have a wonderful time, Laura!

  • shinyinlove

    Again, you are so amazingly organized! I love the outfit too! you look comfy and effortless and totally vacation bound! Have an amazing time.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Larkin!
      Because I have commited to traveling as much as possible, I am getting pretty good at it!
      Plus I know it is important to look respectable when you travel if you are interested in being offered an upgrade so we always try to look the part. πŸ™‚ It does work sometimes.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Born To Organize

    Terrific post, Laura. I love your ability to remain comfortable and stylish at the same time. My feet also get cold on flights. I can’t imagine flights lasting 26 hours. I’ve flown for 12 hours, and that was hard enough. Good thing you’ll be gone for a whole month before the flight home. Happy trails, to you!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Alys!
      The flight is a little bit broken up. about 9 hours to Singapore, then some crazy number to Heathrow, London and then a short flight to Barcelona. We have done it before to get to Dublin and the flight to the US from here is 14 hours so we are well practiced. But that is exactly why we are going for a month, if you are going to travel that far and that many hours you need as much time away as possible. πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Born To Organize

        Agreed! I haven’t been back to Europe in 13 years. I really miss that kind of travel. When my boys are older, I hope to resume my travels.

        My husband travels extensively but for business. Mostly Latin America these days (it helps to be bilingual). There is so much of the world to see.

      • astimegoesbuy

        That there is! And I want to see as much of it as I possibly can. There would be plenty of places in South America that would be great places to see. You need to make the husband take you with him some time.
        Cheers,
        Laura

      • Born To Organize

        The trips are usually a week or less in duration and always when the boys are in school. Pre-kids, I did travel with him to Buenos Aires where he has family. When our oldest was 18 months old I went with him to Cannes. I’ve done short trips in the States (to Southern California, Arkansas with a friend to see the Clinton Library and recently Las Vegas. That’s an odd, but eclectic list, I know. In 1989 I took a backpack to Europe and covered 11 countries in two months. What a blast.

      • astimegoesbuy

        11 countries in two months would have been a bit full on but fun!
        When your boys are grown you will have the time to travel again.
        The Fashion Mister has grown children. We have none so travel is something we are able to enjoy now.
        Plus we are a wee bit older so need to do our travel now. πŸ™‚
        Cheers,
        Laura

      • Born To Organize

        I’m so happy for you. It’s a great thing to experience together.

      • astimegoesbuy

        That it is! And somehow we manage to spend nearly every minute of the day for 4 weeks together and not fight! Which is practically a miracle! πŸ™‚

      • Born To Organize

        I’ll say!

  • dedivahdeals

    I love it – traveling mercies!

  • jensine

    how organised are you? love the trousers and the scarf … can I have when you are done with them ?

    • astimegoesbuy

      I’m usually pretty organisd!
      We do a big trip every couple of years so I am getting well practised at it!
      And yes, you can have them when I am done with them. πŸ™‚
      But it might be awhile!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • jensine

    PS you look great as always

  • reversecommuter

    Bon Voyage Jetset!
    You look fab & comfy (not an easy combination to achieve).
    Enjoy Enjoy Enjoy!
    XO reversecommuter

  • spashionistareport

    Have a safe journey and a wonderful time! Remember to eat, drink and go shopping to your heart’s content! ;-P

  • joyfitnessandstyle

    You look fabulous and we’ll want to see your spanish style – take lots of pics for us!

  • ethelthedean

    Safe flight my fabulous fashionista! I absolutely love your outfit. Chic, casual, and comfy (the three most important Cs when traveling!) Take care, have too much fun, and take a million snaps.
    xx

    • astimegoesbuy

      LOL!
      I probably will take a million snaps! I took about 2500 while in Egypt in Jordan for two weeks, thinking a month in Spain will be double! πŸ™‚
      The three C’s of style, I like that. May have to use that one sometime. πŸ™‚
      Cheers misses!
      Laura
      xx

  • biscuitsandnavy

    We are like travel twins! I like to layer and wear long maxi’s too. I am loving this look, so chic and comfy at the same time! Charlie Sheen calls that WINNING:) I’m really dying over your striped maxi skirt, it is soooo chic and seems so essential now that I see how you styled it! I might have to break my spending diet this weekend to find one. Happy holiday to you:) xoxo

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you!
      It really is WINNING when you can be chic and comfortable at the same time! I have two of these skirts and both are coming to Spain with us because they meet that criteria. They always look great and the best bit is that I didn’t pay much for either one. This one was purchased onsale at an outlet shop for less than $20 and the other one is from Target last summer. Maybe you can find one that will only stretch the spending diet and not break it. πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • gracefully50

    Have a wonderful time in Spain! I’m jealous! πŸ˜‰

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you!
      We will…and don’t be jealous, I’ll take a pic of myself at the end of the flight and you will see that I’m looking horrible and ragged and like I need a long vacation! πŸ™‚
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Rejoice For The Day

    I think people should take the time to look good when they travel. Comfort is a must though, and I will say you look fabulous! Comfy and stylish! Enjoy your trip!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thank you Misses!
      I think it’s important to look good when you travel too. The Fahsion Mister and I have gotten upgraded a couple of times and I think the fact that we are respectable looking has something to do with it. πŸ™‚ At least that is my theory and I am sticking to it!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • kenyaldesigns

    Great tips Laura!! I love the scarf idea and the leggings!! I will definitely use these the next time I have a long trip away. Have fun! And you look great as always!

  • Jody Thompson

    Fabulous look for travel. Love the bag! Cheers and have a safe trip.

  • designchickee

    Hey Laura! I’m leaving on a jet plane too! Maybe we’ll cross paths at 30,000 feet in the sky! Safe travels… πŸ™‚
    Olga

    • astimegoesbuy

      Make sure you wave Olga!
      Otherwise I may not see you…the couple of glasses of wine in the lounge have gone straight to my head.
      Hope your travels are safe and filled with fun!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Bug

    Have a fabby time! Love that scarf btw πŸ™‚

  • shiroknowes

    The bag and jewelry are beautiful !

  • wanderoneday

    Great post! I never would have thought to wear leggings under the skirt… Maybe I should do that for my flight – then I can wear them if I need pants longer than shorts while I’m on St. Kitts (like when I go horseback riding through the rainforest!). Have fun on your trip!

  • Playing With Scarves

    You look all set Laura. You are so well organized. I think a scarf is one of the most important to have during a flight. It keeps our neck warm (it’s always so cold in a planes) and you will be able to use it in many different ways to create different looks.
    Have fun, mi amiga. Asta luego!
    Anne

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinReniΓ©

Christin ReniΓ©

