All That Glitters

Todays Guest Blogger is Alicia from Spashionista Report, the trials and tribulations of a fashionista with Cerebral Palsy.

*****************************************

All that Glitters…

May not be gold, but it has to look good.

More than anything else you wear your jewelry should say something about who you are. Clothing trends come and go, and accessories often follow suit, but jewelry should be forever – and it doesn’t have to be expensive to look chic and stylish.


I get my sparkly things from a variety of places; the hip junior stores like Forever 21, Charlotte Russe, and Maurice’s, my favorite museum’s gift shop, and eBay. I even have some pieces that were specially made for me. In fact, the only place I don’t get it from is the jewelry store.


All That Glitters - Costume

All That Glitters – Costume



If you’re going to go “young” jewelry is certainly the best way to do it. These are all costume pieces that are very inexpensive. I think the most expensive one pictured is the pink phoenix wraparound bracelet. Talk about ostentatious and youthful! I get no end of compliments when I wear it.

All That Glitters - charissemade

All That Glitters – charissemade



These bracelets and earrings were made for me several years ago by my best friend from high school. We had lost touch many, many years ago and only reconnected because of Facebook. Ever since then, even though we live on opposite ends of the US, it’s as if we’ve never been apart. She made these bracelets and earrings for me. If you look closely the earrings are clip-on because my piercings have long since closed up. One of the bracelets has a magnetic clasp – absolutely ideal for a Palsy like me who finds the fine motor skills necessary for operating jewelry clasps nonexistent.


All That Glitters - Frist

All That Glitters – Frist



The best kept secret here in Nashville, Tn is the gift shop at the Frist Center for the Visual Arts. These pieces all hail from there and are incredibly reasonably priced. They’re also unique and distinctive, often reflecting the museum’s current exhibit.


All That Glitters - swarovski

All That Glitters – swarovski



Finally there’s eBay, perfect for “pointing” obliging spouses in the right direction when it comes to  . This piece came from Prague. If you haven’t guessed by now, I’m crazy for all things Art Nouveau, and my favorite color is purple.


Don’t forget, all that glitters in not GOLD!

What’s your favorite costume jewelry piece? Do you wear it often?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

23 responses to “All That Glitters

  • spashionistareport

    Thanks to Laura for letting me guest blog in her absence!
    There appears to be a word missing from the last section. It should read, “Finally there’s eBay, perfect for “pointing” obliging spouses in the right direction when it comes to giftgiving.”

    • Maylana

      I absolutely loved this article. Loved that gorgeous piece from Prague. You’re right museum gift shops are one of the best and overlooked places to find beautiful and unusual pieces.

      • spashionistareport

        Thank you, Maylana. In just a few weeks I’ll be writing on my own blog about an “adventure” to a museum exhibit featuring my favorite artist. As he also designed jewelry I’m hoping the museum gift shop will have some lovely reproductions for me to purchase!

      • Maylana

        I’m going to follow you so that It shows up in my reader. Love love your blog. Very chic and very elegant 🙂

      • astimegoesbuy

        I was at a G audi museum

        yesterday and fell in love with too many pieces!
        Such a great place to find jewelry.
        Cheers,
        Laura

      • astimegoesbuy

        Kat,
        You did it for charity so it doesn’t count against you!
        I too have been looking at old pieces of jewelry trying to work out what new item they can become.
        Cheers,
        Laura

      • Maylana

        Hi Laura, I think I’m going start going to museums more often to score some unusual pieces for myself. Thanks for the wonderfult tip.

        Cheers to you too darling!

      • spashionistareport

        I would go dead busted broke at a Gaudi museum. Laura, you are so lucky! Please enjoy yourself as we all vicariously meander through the best cities in Spain with you.

      • astimegoesbuy

        I have already spent well too much on the most gorgeous pair of ankle boots that I will share with you all when I have a chance to upload a photo and write. Tomorrow we head north to France for a couple of days in Bordeaux.
        Cheers,
        Laura

  • thirtysomethingchic

    I love inexpensive jewerly. I prefer to buy them at “low cost” stores during sales :p

    • astimegoesbuy

      It certainly allows for more fun when you haven’t spent a fortune on jewelry. And these days with layers and layers of bracelets it is easy to mix in the less expensive.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • spashionistareport

    I find you can get away with costume jewelry from just about anywhere as long as the piece looks reasonably well-crafted. It’s so easy to accessorize for very little money anyone can do it!

    Alicia

  • jensine

    I have a few necklaces I always wear if nothing else springs to mind but I love big earrings and lots of diversity

  • Born To Organize

    I forget to wear my jewelry. I need to make more of an effort. I work as an organizer, so bracelets and necklaces get in the way a lot of the time. I do enjoy wearing some bling on evenings out. Nice to “meet” you, Alicia.

    • spashionistareport

      Nice to meet you, too 🙂
      I definitely think the jewelry needs to be easy and wear well as part of your lifestyle. I’ve given up wearing long necklaces because they kind of choke me when I’m in my wheelchair and have to also wear a crossbody purse.
      I had a blast doing this. I hope to see all of you lovely ladies over at my blog!

      • Born To Organize

        I’ll head on over to take a look. My sister has MS and uses a motorize scooter, so I’m aware of some of these challenges. She too wears a crossbody purse. She has a great sense of style and fashion, but has had to curtail a few things like fancy shoes. She always looks great, though.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Alys,
      I used to be very self conscious about bragles at work because of the noise when I wrote or typed but I have decided it is just part of my style to jangel! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Born To Organize

        I love, it Laura! Good for you. I always wanted a charm bracelet growing up, then finally bought an Alice in Wonderland bracelet from an Etsy shop. It was so sweet, but it seemed to drive everyone else nuts. Now I wear it as a necklace. I’ll try to remember to take a photo.

      • astimegoesbuy

        Yes,please do. I would love to see it. 🙂

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

