Spring Racing – Derby Day Fashions

 

 

This week is all about the Spring Racing Carnival in Victoria, with the “race that stops a nation” on Tuesday. Today is Derby Day and no matter what country you live in if there is racing and it’s Derby Day then the fashion focus is on black and white.

Horse racing here in Australia isn’t all about the horses, in fact during the Spring Carnival there is a lot LOT of attention on fashion. The racetrack is no longer a male dominated place where women are rarely seen. There was a big change about 50 years ago when Fashions on the Field became an opportunity for women to frock up and have the chance to win prizes. These days Fashions on the Field has become a major draw on race days and some women have become serial contestants.

As much as I love the fashion, I love the racing so I always try to keep my look for race day fairly sensible so I can get around during the day to have a look at the horses.

I’ve gathered some great photos focusing on black and white for Derby Day.

Derby Day Looks - Spring Racing Carnival

Derby Day Looks – Spring Racing Carnival

The Looks: I’m a huge fan of the vintage style hats. To me they are classic and chic without all the fuss of some of the hats you see these days. Each of these looks are appropriate for Derby Day. My personal favourite is the middle one on the bottom. Absolute classic!

Spring Racing Carnival - Derby Day 2012

Spring Racing Carnival – Derby Day 2012

Something Different: The look on the top left is a little laid back for my racing style but that is exactly what I like about it! Both hats are classics with a hint of vintage inspiration. The Karen Millen dress (bottom center) would look fantastic on a curvy girl (like me).

Derby Day - Spring Racing Carnival 2012

Derby Day – Spring Racing Carnival 2012

The Hat: Oh my soul! I love that hat on the top left. Simple yet stunning. The vintage 20s style on the top right is right on trend with the whole Great Gatsby and Downton Abbey vibe going on. Kate M always does classy race wear.

What I Would Wear to Derby Day 2012

What I Would Wear to Derby Day 2012

What I Would Wear: Unfortunately, I won’t be able to attend Derby Day this year as we are still in Spain. BUT if I were attending this is the look I would be wearing. The classic 50s style check dress, vintage inspired saucer-shaped hat and my white with black trim metal capped toe shoes from my 90-day Haul. The heels aren’t ideal for walking on the lawn but they are low enough that I could wear them all day. Which is important because I hate to see women at the end of the day walking away carrying their shoes. It spoils the whole look.

What do you think you would wear to Derby Day? Do you have a favourite look you work for Spring Racing?

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

7 responses to “Spring Racing – Derby Day Fashions

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinReniƩ

Christin ReniƩ

