I Love Spring Racing

Yes, it’s true. I do love the Spring Racing Carnival and in fact, Spring Racing in general!

I had never attended a horse race before moving to Australia, however once I attended a country race day, I was hooked. Not on the betting, mind you I do like to have a little flutter or two, but on the whole spectacle of it all. The Fashions on the Field, the gathering of friends and especially the racing. For me one of the most impressive sounds is when you are standing on the straight and the horses come thundering by. It’s exhilarating! And if your horse happens to win, even better!

When the Fashion Mister and I got engaged we decided we were perhaps a little too mature aged for the crazy and wild “bucks or hens parties” (that would be bachelor and bachelorette parties for you in the US). What we decided to do was get a group of our friends together on a bus for a day trip to one of the local country race days. It was great fun! We had champagne and trivia on the way to the races, and had hired a marquee and provided nibbles at the track. Everyone had a great day and didn’t have to worry about driving.

The Punters on the Way to Avoca Cup

The Punters on the Way to Avoca Cup

Over the years the Fashion Mister and I have attended a fair few country races and have been making a point to get to at least one of the Spring Racing Carnival either lead in races or races during the week.

We have been lucky enough to see Black Caviar race 3 times, thanks to attending the Cox Plate race day a couple of years. I have also attended Oaks Day and last year the Fashion Mister and I went to Emirates Stakes Day, where we also saw Black Caviar win her race.

 

Black Caviar at Emirates Stakes Day 2011

Black Caviar at Emirates Stakes Day 2011

Emirates Stakes Day

Emirates Stakes Day

The Hat: I had a really boring, basic black hat that I pulled apart and changed up a bit to create this hat. It’s probably one of my favourite hats that I have worn to the races. I used a little hot glue and purchased a flower, the rest had been sitting around for years in the wardrobe.

Emirates Stakes Day - The Look

Emirates Stakes Day – The Look

The Look: I wish the dress had been a little longer (I’m not a fan of my knees) but I love this dress by Cue. Orange, abstract graphic and a chance to wear one of my pairs of orange suede heels, what’s not to love?!

We arrive back from Spain today, I will be home to at least watch the Emirates Stakes races tomorrow. Unfortunately I didn’t get to attend any of the races this Spring Carnival…a small price to pay for spending the month in Spain! I have informed the Fashion Mister that I am planning on us attending Caufield Cup (one of the big lead in race days) and maybe even Derby Day next year. So I will spend the coming year with keen eye on fashion so I can start planning my looks!

I love Spring Racing!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

24 responses to “I Love Spring Racing

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinReniรฉ

Christin Reniรฉ

