International Style – Ladies of Barcelona

It’s a miracle that I made it back from Spain without going over my luggage limit. Because based on what I saw, the ladies of  Barcelona have amazing International Style!

Honestly, the only thing that kept me from maxing out the credit card was that it was all winter clothes there and I knew I was coming back to warm weather in the Southern Hemisphere.  The two items that I noticed that were must have for almost every woman in Spain…a scarf and fantastic shoes (usually boots for winter). I’ll share more with you about what I did bring home on another day. Today, I want you to see how amazing, and stylish the women in Spain look, without trying – or so it seems.

Spanish Style 2012

Spanish Style 2012

Barcelona: Our first stop was Barcelona and it took me about two seconds to know the ladies here had a very distinctive style. Most of which was fantastic. I actually felt a little worried about what I had packed, thinking I would look like a total country girl compared to these amazing women. Luckily, I had brought a few scarves with me and that seemed to be mandatory with any outfit, so I didn’t feel like a total tourist.

The lovely lady above had such a great look. Multi-layered with jeans, a black shirt/dress, a grey t-shirt, the red blazer, skull scarf, the black leather handbag and the black and white carry-all. She looked so fantastic I wanted to be her – chic and casual all at the same time.

Spanish Style - Boots and Scarf

Spanish Style – Boots and Scarf

Boots and Scarf in Barcelona: At the start of our trip we were lucky enough to have a few warm days. Of course the locals thought it was more Autumn as it had cooled down a great deal from their summer heat, but the winter clothes had come out and boots and scarves were seen on most women of all ages.

I like how this young girl had the boots and scarf working but in a lighter manner that worked for a somewhat warmer day. She left the scarf drapped around her neck as accessory, and there if the weather cooled and work stockings/nylons with her short skirt and boots rather than the tights we would see as the weather cooled. Even though most of the women wore boots, they usually had a flat or medium heel. Probably because so many people walk and take public transport. There really is nowhere to park in the cities without paying extremely high fees.

Spanish Scooter Style

Spanish Scooter Style

Scooter Style: Because parking is so minimal and so expensive in Barcelona, far more people ride scooters to and from work to avoid parking fees. During the day the typically wide sidewalks are filled with scooters or cafe’s!

I love that this woman is going to work, in a dress, on her scooter. Obviously she is not worried about helmet hair. I bet when she gets to work she just shakes out her long, lush brown hair and looks fabulous. I think I hate her and I don’t even know her.

Mother and Daughter Fashionistas

Mother and Daughter Fashionistas

It Runs in the Family: I spotted these two from across the street. They were clearly a mother and daughter who each had fantastic style…and the mandatory scarf!

Mum, in a figure flattering black peplum dress a red cardigan and mustard scarf. Daughter with a black, white, red and taupe sweater and colour coordinated scarf on top of a perfectly torn and worn pair of jeans. Both carrying big, lovely leather bags. I think they are proof that a sense of style can be inherited.

Funny thing is that after I took a couple of pictures of these two coming across the square, they actually stopped right next to us and asked me if I would take a picture of the two of them. The wise cracking Fashion Mister said after that I should have just offered to email them the ones I had already taken!

Now that we have seen what is going on with the stylish ladies of Barcelona, tomorrow I will share one of my Barcelona looks with you.

What do you think of these stylish ladies? Any look you like best?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

16 responses to “International Style – Ladies of Barcelona

  • Playing With Scarves

    Dear Laura,
    Thanks a lot for sharing my last post about scarves and scarf colors! That’s very kind of you♥
    I am really impressed by the number of ladies wearing a scarf. I noticed it in France last spring too: lots of classic square scarves – always – and fancy cheaper ones as well. Didn’t know the “scarf wave” had reached Spain too. My explanation is: with the crisis going on, lots of women don’t have the budget to get new attires. And a scarf is a great way to zest up an outfit without spending a lot… Personal explanation by Doctor Anne… 🙂
    Have a great day. Enjoy the warm weather of Australia. Hope you recovered from the jet lag!
    xoxo,
    Anne (Playing with Scarves)

  • Britt Skrabanek

    I’m partial to the woman on the scooter because that is definitely me every day on my bicycle dressing up for work…comfy shoes and to hell with helmet hair! I really liked the girl with the black mini and casual open scarf, too. Very cute!

  • Paula Parisotto

    Wonderful of you to share some of Barcelona’s beautiful women and their style. The scarves are fantastic. Thanks for the track back too 🙂
    Paula
    stylist & scarf enthusiast

  • spashionistareport

    Scarves are very popular among European ladies. They were a prominent accessory when I visited and it looks like the trend hasn’t waned. I can’t wait to see your vacation looks!

  • jaded

    Barcelona is a great walking city. I remember when I visited all those years ago, I wore flats the entire time. … And I’m pretty sure the locals were into scarves then as they are now. Scarves: for fashion, function or both – take your pick! I reckon I carry a scarf with me almost all the time from autumn through to spring. I just love ’em!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Me too! They can transform a look and if you add a scarf with a great print or colour it can bring it into the new season. The women in Barcelona definitely have wearing a scarf totally locked into the style zone. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • chicenvelopements

    I love the first woman’s style. So put together in a casual way. I want to be her, too! Thanks for sharing. These are great photos!
    Beth

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Beth!
      It was kind of intimidating at first to see what amazing style all these women had regardless of their ages!
      I had to think about pulling myself together so I didn’t feel too silly. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Born To Organize

    What I notice the most in all these photos is the confidence. These are women who are comfortable in their own skin and it shows. I’ve always loved boots and at 5’10” with a bad back, low heals all the way.

    Love the on the street pics, Laura. Can’t wait to see what you wore.

  • Fall winter 2012-2013: must-have scarves « Playing with Scarves

    […] happy and honored to have you in the Scarf Addicted group).  Laura from Australia – as time goes buy recently reported the hit scarf wave is phenomenal in Spain where she was on vacation.  From my […]

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

