What I Wore – Salamanca, Spain

As I mentioned yesterday, the sun was shining on us in Salamanca. So I decided to take advantage of the weather and modify what I wore while there. After all, you may remember that I had predominately packed warm weather clothes so now was the perfect time to actually wear some it!

Standing outside the Cathedral - Salamanca - October 2012

Standing outside the Cathedral – Salamanca – October 2012

What I Wore: So in looking at the pictures, it’s probably not the most flattering look. However, it was really comfortable so that won out on the day. I purchased the shirt from an op/thrift shop for about $4. It’s blue and white stripes, made of t-shirt material and has a cute little ruffle around the neckline and down the front. I thought the ruffle detail might distract from the tummy roll…but it obviously doesn’t! Anyway, I matched it up with my red cotton pants which I had cuffed to look more casual and the neutral coloured ballet flats. I kept accessories minimal, silver earrings and bracelet and my big white watch.

Normally, I would have been carrying my big red bag but most of the time I would just hand the Fashion Mister some money and my credit card (in case the urge to shop overwhelmed me) and I just carried the camera. It certainly made life easier for taking pictures and walking through crowds.

Sitting in Plaza Mayor - Salamanca - October 2012

Sitting in Plaza Mayor – Salamanca – October 2012

A beautiful glass of wine on a beautiful day in Salamanca

A beautiful glass of wine on a beautiful day in Salamanca

A Glorious Day: The weather was so fantastic, we decided to stop in the Plaza Mayor or some lunch, and the mandatory liquid refreshment. By now I knew that in the red wines I preferred a Tempranillo (which we have in Australia and I already love – though the Spanish ones are particularly good) and in white, a Verdejo (or as we also know it in Australia Verdello). Food and wine are so inexpensive in Spain, a glass of wine usually cost about 2-2.5 euro and it isn’t a 100ml serve like you get in Australia, but a full glass!

Another common item, and one of my favourites, on many menus were the grilled picillo peppers (pimento). They are very mild and kind of small, tossed on the grill with a bit of olive oil and salt and served up. I would order them every time I saw them on the menu. On this day we also had some crusty bred rubbed with fresh tomato and a tiny bowl of olives. It was all perfect as we sat in the plaza people watching and enjoying the sunshine.

Nighttime in Plaza Mayor - Salamanca - October 2012

Nighttime in Plaza Mayor – Salamanca – October 2012

Come the Night: The weather stayed pleasant but cooled off, so I just added my new hooded cardigan for our walk back into town. There were even more people in the Plaza Mayor in the evening than there had been during the day and it really felt like the place was buzzing. There were a bunch of book vendors set up in the middle, with young and old chatting and buying books.

Tomorrow, I will share a few more night shots of Salamanca but for now, that is what I wore in Salamanca Spain.

Cheers,

Laura

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

9 responses to “What I Wore – Salamanca, Spain

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

