What I Wore to Dine at the Spanish Inquisition

Okay, so maybe it’s not exactly what I wore to dine at the Spanish Inquisition. I mean, I’m mature, but not THAT mature!

At Plaza de Espana in Vejer de la Frontera is the Hotel Calif, which is rumoured to have been the local home of the Spanish Inquisition. It sits on the outer part of the hill so even though two stories are all you can see from the plaza there are another couple of stories down and at the bottom level is the restaurant, which makes spectacular Moroccan food.

Plaza de Espana with Hotel Calif on the right side

Plaza de Espana with Hotel Calif on the right side

We had dinner reservations for 8:00 which meant I had time to go back to Vejer House and get a little dressed up. Best thing was that it had actually been a warm sunny day so I could wear one of the outfits I had brought with me!

 

What I Wore to the Hotel Calif - Vejer - October 2012

What I Wore to the Hotel Calif – Vejer – October 2012

Summer Brights for the Spanish Inquisition - Vejer - October 2012

Summer Brights for the Spanish Inquisition – Vejer – October 2012

What I Wore to the Spanish Inquisition: You may recall the base of this look from Summer Holiday Fashion. The orange palazzo pants, pink and orange tank top and the orange wedges were all part of that look. However, for dining at the Hotel Calif, I wanted to dress it up a bit. So I used one of my scarves as bright and colourful shawl over my shoulders. Because it is long enough, I was able to tie it at the front and not have to worry about it. My friend Anne at Playing With Scarves would be so proud. I just carried my orange leather wallet as a small clutch purse and accessorized with copper and rose gold accessories, including my Marc by Marc Jacobs watch the Fashion Mister gave me for my birthday.

Dressed to Dine - Vejer de la Frontera - October 2012

Dressed to Dine – Vejer de la Frontera – October 2012

Going out to the Hotel Calif - Vejer - October 2012

Going out to the Hotel Calif – Vejer – October 2012

These photos were taken in the courtyard at Vejer House and I think they look pretty good thanks to the white walls, stone floor and all the lovely plants and flowers!

El Jardin del Califa Restaurant Most of the building dates back to the early 1500s but part of it is from the 11th century. You head downstairs and pass through a beautiful hidden garden and open patio area before opting to dine outside on the patio or inside the old vaults. We chose inside as it made for a more romantic atmosphere. I know! You are thinking romantic when you are in the headquarters of the Spanish Inquisition? But it really is lovely now with the candle light and beautifully set tables.

Naturally we started by ordering a bottle of wine and shared an entrée of mixed mezza ( the Middle Eastern version of tapas). The Fashion Mister had ordered a slow roasted saffron lamb shank and I had a dish made of cumin spiced mince beef, rice and eggplant. Both of us thought we died and went to foodie heaven! It was such fantastic food, served fairly rustic but with the most divine flavours. It really made us miss our friend Chef Greg Malouf who has been off cooking in England this past year.

We finished the meal with a small plate of Middle Eastern pastries, which we shared, and coffee. Our bellies were so full we took the long way back to Vejer House (it took 10 minutes, instead 3). Which meant we walked down to the city walls and looked out toward the Cape of Trafalgar and towards Morocco, then back inside the gates to our little home away from home.

It was such a great night, warm weather, amazing food, lovely wine, beautiful spot and a chance to get dressed up to dine at the Spanish Inquisition!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

31 responses to “What I Wore to Dine at the Spanish Inquisition

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

