Monochromatic Print Clashing Trend – My Way

The weather is definitely heating up here in the southern hemisphere which has given me the perfect opportunity to dabble in a little in the monochromatic print clashing trend. This is my way of embarrassing this trend for summer.

Heading out on a Summer night

Heading out on a Summer night

Monochromatic Print Clashing: You may remember these black and white palazzo pants I purchased from Feathers. I wore them to dine at the Asador Extebarri while in Spain. I had this shirt from ASOS packed as well but it wasn’t warm enough so I didn’t have a chance to wear this look until after we returned home. However, you will remember I shared the peplum top, its pink cousin and a fantastic printed skirt with you after buying them all from ASOS.com.

Monochromatic print clashing

Monochromatic print clashing

Monochromatic print clashing for summer 2012

Monochromatic print clashing for summer 2012

We were heading out to a Thai Banquet style dinner with some friends and as the weather was nice and I still felt fully inspired by all the fantastically fashionable women in Spain, I thought I would give this look a go. I know it’s probably a bit too much for the smallish, conservative town I live in…but it was comfortable and I felt like I looked great! Which is half the battle isn’t it?!

Monochromatic Print Clashing - My Way

Monochromatic Print Clashing – My Way

To round off the look I wore a pair of black sued wedges (one of my favourite pair), a stack of silver bracelets, a silver hoop chain necklace and my $5 thrifted mesh clutch bag.

I go back and forth between loving this look and thinking it’s not quite right. Obviously the black and white prints match based on colour but I wonder if the two strong geometric prints are one too many? And is there enough difference in the size of the prints? What I do love is the structured nature of the peplum top with the casual and relaxed feel of the palazzo pants.

What do you all think? I’d love to hear your feedback on my way of doing the monochromatic print clashing trend.

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

25 responses to “Monochromatic Print Clashing Trend – My Way

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinReniรฉ

โ€œFashions fade, style is eternal.โ€ โ€• Yves Saint-Laurent

