Up-cycling an Embroidered Jacket

You may be thinking why bother recycling or up-cycling an embroidered jacket. My answer would be, I paid pretty good money for this jacket because I loved the colour and the print but I only wore it once. So why not work it into my wardrobe more often? It has become far too big for me and I just can’t bear the thought of giving it away.

My dilemma was solved by creative, and crafty in a good way, blogosphere friend at Pillows A-La-Mode. I see all the great things she creates from bits and pieces she acquires and asked her if I sent her something to work with would she be interested in surprising me with something new. Luckily, she said “YES”.

This is what I sent her:

My too big jacket with great colour

My too big jacket with great colour

Embroidery on the Green Jacket

Embroidery on the Green Jacket

I thought it would be gorgeous to wear with black pants and a black shirt, with its hint of orient in the embroidery. Unfortunately, I don’t like to wear black next to my face and then was self-conscious about how bright the jacket was for a then plus-sized woman. So I packed it up and sent it to the US for make-over and last week I received a big box of goodies in return! It was like an early Christmas present…presents actually!

What Pillows A-La-Mode Made with my Embroidered Jacket

What Pillows A-La-Mode Made with my Embroidered Jacket

My Surprise!: Check out all the fantastic stuff K from Pillows A-La-Mode made with my old jacket! Here’s a list but you can check out her website for specifics (plus all the other great things she does) – A clothing/hanger cover, a tote bag, a pillow (Naturally!), a coffee cup warmer (I’m having a fashion inspiration for this item), a wall hanging that she embroidered my blog name onto, a frame to be used to leave messages/menus and such in wax pencil, a black jewelry pouch, a beaded rosette, a tissue holder for my handbag, two card organizers, and a miniature string of bunting. See what I mean about it feeling like Christmas!

My Up-cycled Embroidered Jacket

My Up-cycled Embroidered Jacket

I love how she used the front of the jacket (buttons and button-holes) to make the pillow. She really is a clever lady. And I am totally thinking I may borrow my coffee cup warmer/holder and use it as a cuff bracelet! After all, it was a cuff at one time.

Love the Logo Wall Hanging

Love the Logo Wall Hanging

This wall hanging is going in the office where I do all my blog work!

Cool new Tote Bag

Cool new Tote Bag

Both sides of this cool carry-all / tote bag are the pockets from the original jacket which means besides tons of space inside the bag there are two pockets for extra carry space.

What a Great job by Pillows A-La-Mode!

What a Great job by Pillows A-La-Mode!

I’m so glad that I hung on to this jacket and sent it to the lovely K at Pillows A-La-Mode! Now I can still be in love with the fabric and enjoy it in its many new forms. Many thanks to my creative and crafty friend for all my early Christmas presents! I’m a pretty lucky girl to have made a new friend back in my homeland who it this talented!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

18 responses to “Up-cycling an Embroidered Jacket

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

