A Visit From the Ghost of Christmas Present

Today we are having a visit from the ghost of Christmas Present.

As you know, I am originally from the US but have been in Australia for almost 11 years now. And I have recently shared with you how hard it was to adjust to Christmas in the summertime. However, I think from the following pictures you may see I am giving it a good try! In fact on this weekend before Christmas the weather is nice and warm. 28C to 32C in the lead up to Christmas. That’s 90F to 100F for those of you up north!

Many of you will know me well enough to know that I push the boundaries of professional hospital management attire, especially on the weekend…and in the summer it gets worse!

Summer Work wear

Summer Work wear

Ghost of Christmas Present: I had the Fashion Mister take these photos in the far back yard before I went to work. I have a hammock stretched between two gum trees back there. It’s a little space that is a bit ragged looking but is secluded thanks to the gun trees and the wall of plants behind me (by the end of summer they will be a fantastic pink colour). It’s a great spot for the hammock because with a breeze blowing in the trees I can pretend I am at the beach.

Anyway, back to what I am wearing! You may remember the shirt from one of my thrift shop hauls with The Fashion Sister From Another Mother. It’s silk and I managed to pick it for $8 at one of my favourite thrift shops. Although I am wearing shorts, they are Ralph Lauren linen shorts, so I think that makes them good enough to wear to work. I’ve added in some bright jewelry, a cobalt blue bag and a really cute pair of Rich Waters flats from Reef a fantastic Australian brand.

Bright Colours for Christmas Present

Bright Colours for Christmas Present

Christmas Present Brights

Christmas Present Brights

Christmas Present Brights: The necklace was made by one of the talented girls I used to work night shifts with in ICU. It may end up being the only Emerald green item I have in the wardrobe in 2013 so I thought I should get used to wearing it now. The three brightly coloured bangles are from the Fashion Sister From Another Mother, we already exchanged gifts this year.

Rich Waters by Reef

Rich Waters by Reef

Cute Summer Flats

Cute Summer Flats

Christmas Present and Christmas Presents: There are a few things I love about these cute Rich Water flats by Reef, 1) The colours are fantastic, 2) Reef is an Australian company, 3) the shoes are not just cute but comfortable and most importantly, 4) they are part of Reef’s “We Heart” project which helps support communities in developing countries. Which means when you buy a pair you are helping to give a present to a developing country and being a good part of the global community! And that is the kind of Christmas present I want.

Yes, Christmas in the summer is something that can take a bit of getting used to, but after a visit from the ghost of Christmas Present…I think I’m getting there!

**Thank you to Reef for sending me this fantastic pair of rich Water flats. Pretty sure they will be showing up a fair bit during this summers looks!**

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

18 responses to “A Visit From the Ghost of Christmas Present

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

