More from Melbourne

Yesterday was a little about what I wore and that we were meeting a friend at Parliament House for lunch. Today is more from Melbourne but just a few of my favourite quick pics while wandering around…and before shopping or real drinking began!

The Fashion Misters Dessert at Parliament House

The Fashion Misters Dessert at Parliament House

Waiting on the steps at Parliament House

Waiting on the steps at Parliament House

Victorian wines only at Parliament House

Victorian wines only at Parliament House

Luncheon at Parliament House: Our friend booked us in to the dinning room at Parliament House for lunch. Apparently you can do this when Parliament are not in session. For those of you from the US, it would be like going to your state congress and having lunch. Surprisingly the food was REALLY nice and very reasonably priced. I also liked that they only had Victorian (state) wines on the wine list. It shouldn’t have surprised me to think the politicians from Victoria are only drinking wines from our state, but it did. We met our friend on the steps of Parliament before heading into the old Victorian (era) building. The dining room was VERY old school and a little bit fancy. The food was actually quite good. I could have been very happy to skip a meal and just have the fantastic desserts! This beautiful strawberry and chocolate concoction was the Fashion Mister’s. I had a sumptuous pannacotta with a lime sorbet.

St. Patrick's Cathedral Melbourne

St. Patrick’s Cathedral Melbourne

Bird on a Fountain

Bird on a Fountain

Ribbon Sculpture

Ribbon Sculpture

Wandering Around the Block: It was probably a wander around a couple of blocks but all of it was easy walking distance from Parliament House. St. Patrick’s Cathedral in Melbourne is where the Fashion Mister’s parents were married and as I took a picture of so many cathedrals in Spain I thought I should take at least one of St. Pat’s. I had to have a picture of the sculpture birds that were carved for each point around the water fountain in the park by Parliament Station. When walking from Parliament Station to St. Pat’s you pass this very large “ribbon” sculpture. I was totally fascinated by its curves and the lovely rippled effect.

Lunch was lovely and our wander around the few blocks was nice…tomorrow, there will be even MORE from Melbourne!

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

8 responses to “More from Melbourne

  • Playing With Scarves

    Hi Laura,
    Back to the blog world after a crazy December month….
    HAPPY NEW YEAR, my dear !
    I wish you the very best for 2013. Enjoy your stay in Melbourne and let your friends know if you run for a chair in parliament 😉
    Once deputy, I suggest you quickly adopt two laws: one stating desserts should be free (would make many of us happy) and scarves should be sold in all fashion boutiques (would make you and me very happy!).
    xo,
    Anne Touraine (Playing with Scarves)

    • astimegoesbuy

      Anne,
      If I ever did run for parliament I would definitely push to adopt your two suggested laws!
      Welcome back to the blogosphere, hope you had a fantastic holiday season. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

      • Playing With Scarves

        I’ll be your first supporter. If necessary I will ask for the Australian citizenship…. Do you think I have a chance?
        We had a great Holiday season…. I am just so exhausted that I have decided to run a cooking + cleaning + vacuuming endless strike. Other than that, all is fine….
        See ya,
        Anne

      • astimegoesbuy

        They took me Anne so I am certain they would take you! 🙂
        I am supposed to be starting a big clean today after the month long ban but I am hanging around the computer instead…avoiding.
        After my coffee I will get started. 🙂
        Cheers,
        Laura

      • Playing With Scarves

        Which country did they take you from???? You sound so … Australian!
        French might not be welcome. Too lazy. Oh well, the Americans took me. So… I have a chance.
        Enjoy your coffee …. all day long. Do like me: I am running a cooking, cleaning, vacuuming ENDLESS strike. French attitude….I am telling you. French, especially after Christmas, get lazy…:-) 🙂 🙂
        Cheers back,
        Anne

      • astimegoesbuy

        I was taken from the US!
        It would be great to run an endless strike on cooking and cleaning but once it gets to this stage it starts making me crazy. I’m teetering on the edge of insanity at this moment. 🙂 Plus I have promised myself a manicure once I get some of the cleaning done! It’s really just put away the Christmas stuff and get things back in their proper places.
        Maybe one more coffee and then I’ll get started. 😉

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

