Jungle January – Animal Instinct

Anne from Pretty Grievances has asked me to provide some input on Jungle January, so I went with my animal instinct and said “YES” of course! Anne is encouraging her followers and friends to get a little wild and find the purr-fect animal print for their lifestyle.

I too have succumbed to the jungle fever and thought about all the animal print in my wardrobe and how I wear it.

To keep this post from getting too long, I have not included anything reptilian. Only warm-blooded animal prints made it into this post…well not actually warm-blooded animals (no animals were harmed in the creating of these looks)…just prints inspired by warm blood animals.

As much as I love animal prints, I’m not quite brave enough to do a full on look in one and find that although I have a fair few purr-fect prints at my disposal, they are all in accessory form. Which I think is a great way to add a little personality to any look.

Leopard Print Scarf with a Plaid Skirt

Leopard Print Scarf with a Plaid Skirt

Leopard Scarf and Shoes with a Black Dress

Leopard Scarf and Shoes with a Black Dress

Leopard Print Scarf for a Country Outing

Leopard Print Scarf for a Country Outing

Leopard Print Scarf: All three of these looks have the same leopard print scarf in common. The first look from The Plaid Trend – My Way where I added a bit of the tribal trend to the plaid trend and came up with this 70s inspired look. Look two comes from the early days of my blog and 7 Looks x 7 days – LBD Challenge. I went with the thought that if mother nature puts blown and black together on leopard then I could mix the two colours together and tie it all together with a leopard print scarf! Plus I got to wear an adorable pair of leopard print kitten heels with this look. The third look is from attending a friend’s birthday at a local hedge maze and was part of a Town & Country look. I wanted a little more animal instinct in the look so decided to carry my fantastic Mulberry handbag in a black and white leopard print..

Tribal Animal

Tribal Animal

Mulberry White Leopard print Bag

Mulberry White Leopard print Bag

Leopard Print Kitten Heels

Leopard Print Kitten Heels

A New Leopard Print Scarf

A New Leopard Print Scarf

Letting out the Animal Inside: As I mentioned, I’m not quite brave enough to wear a full-on animal print look but I find working with accessories in animal print lots of fun and a great way to share a peak of personality. These 4 hints of leopard are varied from, Tribal, Town & Country, Office and Casual looks that I wear regularly. Which shows just how versatile a little animal instinct can be.

Not Your Standard Animal Print

Not Your Standard Animal Print

Not Your Mother’s Animal Print: Just to show that I’m not all about the classic leopard print accessories, I also find myself with these two great animal prints. No need to always be conventional with your animal prints, sometimes a horse of a different colour is just what it takes to make a look new and fresh. I find this grey and blue leopard print scarf fun to wear with grey, white, black and indigo. Good for when you don’t want to be classic. I have had the 9 West pony skin/cow print heels for nearly 10 years and they are still classic. Perfect when wearing something conservative. I especially like to wear them with a tailored pair of Black pants so they just peek out when I am walking or sitting. It’s a little hit of visual interest with a black suit.

So it is possible to embrace “Jungle January” and your own animal instinct without being on the prowl if you use animal print accessories to add a purr-fect finishing touch to your look.

Do you have Animal Instinct? Or have you found the cure for jungle fever?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

11 responses to “Jungle January – Animal Instinct

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

