White Hot – More Tips to Staying Cool in the Hot Weather

It is summer here in the southern hemisphere and lately it has been really CRAZY hot. I’m talking WHITE HOT!

Which is my first tip to staying cool in the hot weather…wear white. We all know that a white car is cooler than a black car in the summer because it reflects light and heat, so dressing in white is going to keep you cooler than dark colours.

Staying Cool in the Hot Weather

Staying Cool in the Hot Weather

Staying Cool: As much as I dislike my “mature-aged” knees, when the temp gets over 35C (that’s 100F for you up north) fewer clothes is better. However, just because I am wearing shorts doesn’t mean I need to look like a beach bum. I’m wearing a cute white lace top/dress from Glassons, purchased last summer, with a pair of white cotton shorts from Country Road purchased on clearance over the winter. White on white keeps it cool and fresh. Add in the hits of silver and turquoise to keep it current.

White Hot Summer Look

White Hot Summer Look

Beating the Summer Heat

Beating the Summer Heat

White Hot: This lace top, is actually a dress! However, as a taller woman, it really only works for me as a dress. I love the fitted top and full skirt but shorts are mandatory to provide adequate coverage. Another nice thing about wearing all white…no matter how pale my skin is I look a little tan when in white. I have nearly worn out this little pair of silver sandals but can’t seem to part with them. I’m pretty sure they were a Target find from a couple of years ago. Which means I couldn’t have spent more the $20 on them.

White Hot Accessories

White Hot Accessories

Accessories: I totally went with silver and turquoise for this look. Along with the silver sandals and the turquoise and silver op shop necklace, I have used my DIY oversized silver metallic clutch. The stack of bracelets are by Samantha Wills and were a Christmas present from the Fashion Mister. This is the third lovely wooden box I have received with Samantha Wills jewelry inside during the last 9 months and I have a whole list of “lust-haves” from her collection that I am hoping to add! The big white watch is one of my favourite accessories and at $20, I wish I had bought a spare.

A few years ago I avoided white but this year I am loving it in everything from a white t-shirt to white denim and blazers.

Dressing white-hot is my next tip on staying cool in the hot weather.

Do you wear white? All year round or just in the summer?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

23 responses to “White Hot – More Tips to Staying Cool in the Hot Weather

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

