To Die For Denim – Tie Dye

Having lived through the 70s who would have thought that my favourite to die for denim would be a pair of tie dye ones that I created myself? Perhaps I like them so much because they were created by me. Or because they are one of a kind. Or maybe even because they are just fun.

Tie Dye Denim: Early in 2012 when skinny jeans were becoming the jean to have I bought a pair of really full on turquoise ones that were comfortable, but just a little too bright for me. All the cool floral prints hadn’t come out yet and I had seen one photo online of Isabel Marant’s tie dye version. Well, goodness knows a woman of my age has done tie dye before so of to the store for some bleach and my turquoise skinny jeans became “oh so cool”. You can see that DIY here.

Cut out Shoulder and Tie Dye Jeans

Cut out Shoulder and Tie Dye Jeans

Relaxed and comfortable

Relaxed and comfortable

To Die for Denim: You would think that the tie dye would be a bit full on but it actually tamed down these pants and added a little more fun to them. I think the summer sweater with the cut out shoulders, my wedge runners and coach bag make a great weekend to die for look.

DIY Denim Tie Dye

DIY Denim Tie Dye

Cut out shoulders and turquoise jewelry

Cut out shoulders and turquoise jewelry

Accents and Accessories: I stuck with the turquoise theme of the day by wearing a gold and turquoise owl necklace that used to be my mum’s in the 70s. Huge gold earrings add to the 70s vibe and then I mixed some gold and turquoise bracelets and bangles to stack on the arm candy.

I’m thinking of wearing these jeans and the wedges with a white t-shirt and beige jacket one night during the L’Oreal Fashion Festival. I think they deserve a run out in the fashion public.

What do you think of my to die for denim? Is tie dye too much?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

18 responses to “To Die For Denim – Tie Dye

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

