How to Wear the Tuxedo Trend and Not Look Like a Penguin

Today is Penguin Awareness Day so it seemed appropriate to have a look at how to wear the tuxedo trend and NOT look like a penguin. Even though penguins are cute…I mean we have all seen “Happy Feet“, but that doesn’t mean I want to look like one!

Fairy Penguins: Yes, that is their real name. No, they don’t grant wishes! I tried that one when the Fashion Mister took me down to Port Phillip to watch them come in one evening. Next year when my sister and niece come to visit, I know they are going to love this little day trip I have planned for them.

Now, time to get back to fashion!

How to Wear the Tuxedo Trend

How to Wear the Tuxedo Trend

Formal Attire: Award show season has started with the Golden Globes last week and there are yet a few more to follow. Mostly it will be the guys in tuxedos and the ladies in gowns. Which is a little unfortunate because I just love the many inspirations that women can take from the standard tuxedo look. We are lucky in that we have so many more options than men when it comes to this formal attire. I also really love how feminine and strong a woman looks in a fantastically tailored tuxedo inspired look.

Tuxedo My Way:

Tuxedo Trend

Tuxedo Trend

Tuxedo Junction

Tuxedo Junction

Formal Attire - Tuxedo Look

Formal Attire – Tuxedo Look

Dressed for Success - Tuxedo

Dressed for Success – Tuxedo

Tuxedo Trend: I admit, it’s really only a nod to the tuxedo trend thanks to the jacket. However, I really like how polished and chic this look is. Not to mention simple because my wardrobe is full of black and white. The jacket is from Glassons, purchased last year because I loved the black trim. The suede dress is actually 20 years old. I bought in the bargain basement of Macy’s in San Francisco to wear to my 10 year high school reunion! Some things are worth hanging on to and carting around the world.

Tuxedo Trend - Accessories

Tuxedo Trend – Accessories

No Bow Ties

No Bow Ties

Tuxedo Trend Accessories: I have also added a silver pearl bracelet and drop earrings to this look. The little silver leather clutch has been in my possession for 11 years. I bought it for the last party I attended in Denver before moving to Australia. It was so small, and a little expensive at the time, so I brought it with me and find that I use it ALL the time. The black and white pony skin shoes are from Nine West and about 5 or 6 years old. You may remember the lace collar from my DIY Louis Vuitton Inspired Collar post.

And that is how to wear the tuxedo trend and not look like a penguin!

How would you style this look? Do you think I strayed too far away from the classic tuxedo?

 

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

34 responses to “How to Wear the Tuxedo Trend and Not Look Like a Penguin

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinReniรฉ

Christin Reniรฉ

