Classic Hits, the Full-Skirted Dress

Every once in a while a classic hit comes along. An item of fashion that becomes an eternal style icon. Today our classic hit is the full-skirted dress. As you know, I am a girl with curves which is why there is always at least one of these classic hits in my wardrobe. It’s forever flattering of the female form and can look equally as lovely on a skinny or curvy frame.

Classic - Full-skirted Dress

Classic – Full-skirted Dress

Full-skirted dress a classic hit

Full-skirted dress a classic hit

 

Fun and Flirty full-skirt!

Fun and Flirty full-skirt!

The Full-Skirted Dress: I am absolutely in love with this full-skirted dress! It’s feminine, fun and flirty, and fantastic for summer. I found it in a little shop near here in Buninyong, called Lana-Rose. They have some lovely things with a hint of retro about them. In fact, I have another piece from there that will be making an appearance soon. Originally I was drawn to the bright orange flowers on the white background. You know I love orange but it’s the gorgeous fit of this classic shape that convinced me it needed to be mine! I love that the maker actually put in an underskirt/lining that helps give the skirt some shape and keeps it looking full. I’ve had these green shoes by Nine West for nearly 10 years and find that I mostly wear them with a classic full-skirted dress. The ankle ties seem to be perfect for this look.

Lady-like Accessories

Lady-like Accessories

Summer Floral Accessories

Summer Floral Accessories

Floral Fling Accessories: I tried to keep the accessories lady-like and simple but with a bit of personality to compliment but not take-away from the dress. Which is why I opted for the green shoes. You all know I have a couple of pair of fantastic, fiery orange heels but I thought they would steal a little WOW from the dress. I kept the jewelry simple, my big white watch, an orange bangle from a bright set of three, a vintage pearl bracelet from my mum, little vintage pearl drop earrings and a pearl and shell flower necklace the Fashion Mister bought me on our last trip to Hong Hong. I also opted for my op-shop find, the grey mesh handbag because I thought it worked well with the grey in the floral print of the dress.

If you wanted to wear this classic full-skirted dress in a more simple way, it would look just as lovely with ballet flats and/or a little cardigan.

This is the first in a series I will do on Classic Hits. What do you think? Is the full-skirted dress on your list of classic hits? Or is it a big miss? How would you style it?

**Thanks again to Abby for letting me use “The Lane Cafe” as a back drop for this photo shoot! **

 

 

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

51 responses to “Classic Hits, the Full-Skirted Dress

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinReniรฉ

Christin Reniรฉ

