Inspire Your Heart with Art Day

The 31st of January is Inspire Your Heart with Art Day, which I find appropriate for so many reasons. First of all we are only two weeks from Valentine’s Day which  is all about heart’s and love. Secondly, because we are a month into the new year and I wonder how everyone is doing on their New Year’s Resolutions.

Inspire Your Heart with Art

Inspire Your Heart with Art

However, the more I think about what is art, the more my mind wanders off to less conventional inspiration. Don’t get me wrong, I love art in the traditional sense…painting and sculpture but I also find inspiration in photography, architecture and fabulous clothes. Which is why you will have read posts from me comparing Gaudi buildings in Madrid to clothing, and seen a recent post on the sculptures at the local botanical gardens. I even think amazing food can be a work of art.

art – noun

  1. The expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture,…: “the art of the Renaissance”
  2. Works produced by such skill and imagination.
Synonyms

craft – skill – artifice – science – workmanship – knack

So really, based on that definition art truly can come in many forms. I was reviewing some photos I had taken when I was in Melbourne for the Spring Fashion Festival in September. Although I took many fashion related photos I had also taken some other “inspirational” or as the Fashion Mister calls them “arty-farty” photos. All of these do inspire my heart.

Glitter Elephant in Melbourne

Glitter Elephant in Melbourne

A little nod to Picasso but what girl can resist bling? Even if it is a mirror covered elephant statue!

Graffitti on Hosier Lane Melbourne

Graffiti on Hosier Lane Melbourne

More Hosier Lane Graffitti

More Hosier Lane Graffiti

Not only is one of my favourite restaurants on Hosier Lane (Movida and Movida Next Door) but I love the ever-changing graffiti-ed walls in the lane. I’m constantly inspired by the colour and desperately want to do a photo shoot there. The place is often packed with tourists and wedding parties. Some day I will get my nerve up to have the Fashion Mister take some photos of one of my styled looks there.

Train Station Melbourne

Train Station Melbourne

Gothic, Victorian and Deco buildings are some of my favourites but a beautifully designed building from any period can be amazing.

Business Man Sculpture - Melbourne

Business Man Sculpture – Melbourne

There are three of these whistling gentlemen on their way to work. I like the sense of whimsy about them and that they are passed by hundreds of thousands of people. Some who barely look at them and others who reach out and touch them as they walk past. I personally find them very tactile.

Inside the Block Arcade Melbourne

Inside the Block Arcade Melbourne

Amazing fashion housed inside amazing architecture! Another reason to love Melbourne.

Origami floral display in Melbourne

Origami floral display in Melbourne

There were great big displays of origami flowers inside the GPO on this day. I was impressed both by the vision and the patience of the creator.

Photo inside Alpha 60 - Melbourne

Photo inside Alpha 60 – Melbourne

Also inside the GPO Melbourne is the Alpha 60 shop. As I wandered through I was stopped in my tracks by the impact this photo made hanging up on the wall. I love black and white photography and the contrast in this photo was so strong I felt moved to photograph the photo!

I’m glad that art comes in many forms and am thankful that there are those creative enough to make art in all it’s forms to inspire me.

What inspires your heart? When it comes to art are you a traditionalist or a bit open to all forms?

 

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

21 responses to “Inspire Your Heart with Art Day

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

