How to Wear Pink Polka Dots if You Aren’t a Little Girl

As we continue our “An Affair to Remember” month, I thought it might be a good time to talk about how to wear pink polka dots if you aren’t a little girl. I don’t mean little in the sense of size, but age!

You may recall from my post about “How to wear pink without looking like Barbie”, that pink has been showing up in my wardrobe regularly of late and now, thanks to a great op shop find, I have more pink polka dots! So the trick becomes, how to pull off pink and polka dots without looking like I’m eight years old…or like I am trying to be eight years old!

Fun and Flirty Pink Polka Dots

Fun and Flirty Pink Polka Dots

Pink Polka Dots: The moment I saw this mini dress at my favourite op shop, I knew exactly how I would style it. Of course for me it is too short and the full baby-doll cut does nothing for my figure so I did a Tim Gunn and “made it work” by wearing it as a shirt and belting it! Thanks to Anne at Playing With Scarves, I opted to give the curls a bit of a wrap in a lovely scarf.

A big bag for daytime

A big bag for daytime

Add some edge with black

Add some edge with black

The extras: By adding the black leggings, black handbag and some black bangles I tried to keep the look from getting to “young” but I still wanted it to be flirty. Plus, it gave me a great opportunity to wear my hot pink wedges.

The Accessories

The Accessories

More Accessories - Pink and Black

More Accessories – Pink and Black

Fun Accessories: There is so much fun in the print that I had to continue the whimsy with my accessories, without being too princess I hope! A couple of black bracelets and the pink bracelet from my brights trio, plus my favourite silver bangle from Mexico. I thought the big shell earrings played up the polka dot theme, with their cutout center. All that with my fav white watch (which is going to need replaced soon) and my black bag from my Lust Have Haul last year.

I really want to know what you think! Would you wear this look? Or do you have a suggestion on how to wear pink polka dots if you aren’t a little girl?

 

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

42 responses to “How to Wear Pink Polka Dots if You Aren’t a Little Girl

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

