What to Wear when Entertaining Friends at Home – New Series!

One of my dear friends and a faithful follower of As Time Goes…Buy has asked for advice on what to wear when she has friends coming to dinner and wanted a recipe to go with. So I thought it would be the perfect lead into a new series, focusing on food and fashion. Today is about what to wear when entertaining friends at home.

Recently I had a number of friends over so have used that night as inspiration for today’s suggestions.

My thoughts about entertaining friends at home is that I want to be comfortable and I want to spend as much time with my friends as possible, not stuck in the kitchen. However, being comfortable doesn’t mean wearing sweatpants and sweatshirt. You want your friends to know they are special, so why not up the look a little?

What I Wear When Entertaining at Home

What I Wear When Entertaining at Home

What to Wear When Entertaining Friends at Home: I like to keep it simple yet chic. Which is exactly the look I think I get when wearing these great black and white graphic print palazzo pants with a simple white t-shirt. You’ll know from yesterdays post that I love a white t-shirt in so many different looks. The combination of the t-shirt and silk palazzo pants says, I’m relaxed, welcome to my home, it’s really nice to have you here. Or at least that is what I imagine. Plus this look means I can do the next best thing to being barefoot, wear sandals.

Summer Entertaining at Home

Summer Entertaining at Home

Simple and Chic Entertaining at Home

Simple and Chic Entertaining at Home

Chic Entertaining at Home: Over the years I have collected a number of vintage wicker chairs and a couple of vintage cast iron tables. All of them are as I found them at antique auctions and they make a nice spot to sit outside on the patio during the summer. The Fashion Mister has a nice collection of vintage glassware that really plays up the vintage chic feel.

Simple Accessories

Simple Accessories

Simple Accessories: I have maintained the black and white look with my white watch, black and silver bracelets and silver necklace. Keeping it simple and comfortable can still be chic.

To continue the theme of keeping it simple, I try to think of things that can either be prepared the day before or at least ahead of the guest arriving so I can hang out with my friends. For this particular gathering I had put together a couple of gourmet pizzas before their arrival and we popped them into the outdoor pizza oven while having drinks. I had also made some nibbles. One of them was a smoked salmon pin-wheel, which I prepared the day before and everyone loved. So that is the recipe I will share with you. Seriously, it doesn’t get easier than this!

Salmon Pinwheel

Salmon Pin-wheel

Smoked Salmon Pin-wheel:

  • Thinly sliced smoked salmon
  • Cream Cheese
  • Finely chopped fresh dill

Lay out the salmon on a sheet of cling film / glad-wrap, making sure to match up edges as much as possible.

Finely chop fresh dill and mix into cream cheese. Then spread mixture over the salmon.

Using the cling film to start, begin rolling the salmon from one end until you reach the other end, being sure to remove the cling film as you roll.

Tightly wrap the role in the cling film, sealing each end (this should look a little like a sausage), then place in refrigerator over night (this allows the dill to flavour the cream cheese).

Remove from refrigerator just before ready to serve. Remove cling film and slice. I usually create a pretty plate of the salmon pin-wheels and place a bowl of garlic flavored biscuits/crackers/toasted bagel chips next to the plate so guests can either eat plain or with a bit of crunch.

Currently, I am a fan of a glass of Pinot Gris with this dish however, a Riesling is also very nice.

Serve and Enjoy!

Hope this helps Sarah! And thank you for the question that has led to this series of “what to wear when”. I’ll be doing a post of What to Wear When each month that will include a recipe.

So that is what I wear when entertaining friends at home. What do you wear? Do you think I am too casual? Or too dressy?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

16 responses to “What to Wear when Entertaining Friends at Home – New Series!

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

