Happy Valentine’s Day??

Is it a Happy Valentine’s Day?

I know for many there is a huge amount of pressure on Valentine’s Day to be some crazy, wildly romantic day. After all, once, not all that long ago, I was young and single too!

However, what I can share with you from the wisdom of age, is that Valentine’s Day is a little over-rated. Why must you have only one day to share your love and passion with the people in your life? I’m all for being passionate and loving all year-long. In fact, I can recall telling the Fashion Mister that if he sent me flowers on Valentine’s day I would be very disappointed. Why? Because it seems so cliche’ and kind of forced. I would rather he sent them on some random day…just because!

How to show love on Valentine's Day

How to show love on Valentine’s Day

Now if he sent me shoes on Valentine’s Day, then I would know REALLY KNOW that he loved me!

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Red Velvet Cupcakes

I could also be very happy these, because I love red velvet cupcakes! Red velvet is becoming more popular in Australia which is a great thing because even my step-daughter who is getting married this weekend will have one of the layers on the wedding cake as red velvet.

Love Hot Chocolate

Love Hot Chocolate

We could eat our cupcakes with a lovely cup of hot chocolate!

Love is in the air

Love is in the air

Shoes…cupcakes…chocolate…I am starting to think love is in the air.

The BEST Valentine's Present

The BEST Valentine’s Present

The BEST Valentine’s Present: So as much as I love all the things above, the best present I have ever gotten, is my husband, The Fashion Mister. Even though at times he can drive me spare, he loves me with all his heart, understands or tolerates my crazy passion for fashion and he makes sure that I know I am well-loved and special in his eyes. AND, he makes me laugh! What a fantastic gift that is mine to enjoy everyday, not just on Valentine’s Day.

Thank you My Husband! I hope I can make you as happy as you make me, everyday but especially on this Happy Valentine’s Day!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

9 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day??

  • ethelthedean

    Such a lovely post. I agree totally – Valentines in principle works (ie. take the time to appreciate your loved ones and all the love you have in your life) but the zany consumerism and (IMHO) really awful gender stereotyping that comes with the day makes my head spin.

    I too hope the FM gifts you with those shoes! That way, when I’m visiting your fair city I can borrow them. 🙂

    • astimegoesbuy

      LOL!
      I promise, that should the Fashion Mister giving me those shoes, you are more than welcome to borrow them when you’re here!
      I’m not sure who decided, black and red lacy underwear with vital pieces missing was a great gift for your wife or girlfriend on Valentine’s Day??
      And as much as I love chocolate…really? When most women are self conscious about their figure! Plus most of the time you have to share it with the man that gave it to you. Both ideas seem more like they are giving themselves a gift! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • dedivahdeals

    I agree, Valentine’s Day is overrated unless you are single. Hubby and I may go out to dinner Friday night and I bought son’s candy and card from Dollar Tree. BUT if you are single and dating…It’s a different story because you feel obligated to buy or do something. Unfortunately my son didn’t realize this so I had to get a small Teddy Bear and chocolate for his girlfriend” to be air expressed today for delivery tomorrow!

    • astimegoesbuy

      He probably thought since you and your husband didn’t make a big deal it wasn’t needed.
      I think it stinks that singles should be so pressured that they have a Valentine on this day.
      Isn’t it more important that you spend time with people you love and find the right person at the right time?
      I’ll get off my soap box now. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • shiroknowes

    Happy Valentine and what a lovely hot chocolate !

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

