How to Dress When You are the Step-Monster of the Bride

Okay, if you have been following along, you have probably figured out that I’m not really worried about how to dress as the step-monster of the bride…but I did put a lot of thought into what I would wear. Again, if you have been following along, you would have seen posts about the two options, here and here. It’s serious business figuring out what you plan to wear when you are the step-monster. Not only do you have to keep all the usual rules of appropriate wedding guest attire, but you have to make sure you aren’t wearing something too similar to the mother-of-the-bride…buy could that be weird!

I think I did okay with my final choice.

Step-monster of the Bride

Step-monster of the Bride

Summer wedding attire

Summer wedding attire

The Dress: Floral prints are extremely popular for 2013 and this bodycon dress has such fantastic colours I had to order it when I saw it on sale at ASOS.com. I thought I had selected an Australian size 12 (US 10) but when it arrived it was a British 12 (Australian 10) so it was scary tight. I knew if I was going to wear it I needed to get serious about loosing a few kilos. So every day at work, no elevator, just the stairs. All day, up and down those five flights of stairs. In the end, it was worth it. I felt pretty good in the dress and received lots of compliments.

The Rest: It turned out to be a VERY hot day so hair up was the only sensible option. Accessories were my navy blue Glamour Puss platform heels, a purple jade bangle, my Marc Jacobs watch, a pair of amethyst vintage earrings and the necklace I wore when I married the Fashion Mister. I also had my silver-blue vintage mesh clutch. Because the wedding party were in sage and the mother-of-the bride was wearing a silver-grey long gown. This was a great option.

Me? Over-dressed?

Me? Over-dressed?

Belle of the Ball

Belle of the Ball

Last Call: The Fashion Mister had the key so it was our job to make sure everything was locked up at the end of the night. So while the DJ was breaking down his equipment I decided to start taking the bows off the chairs (one less thing to do the next day). It was just easy to string them around my neck so I could keep track of them all but keep moving. By the end I looked like some Southern Belle in my tulle ball gown heading of to Tara. Could have shamed Scarlett O’Hara and her green curtain dress easily!

So in the first pictures you have seen how to dress when you are the Step-Monster of the Bride and in the last two shots you can see how the step-monster dresses after a couple of glasses of bubbles.

Congratulations again to Mark and Megan on such a beautiful beginning to the rest of their lives.

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

42 responses to “How to Dress When You are the Step-Monster of the Bride

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinReniΓ©

Christin ReniΓ©

