2013 Trends to Love – Bold Stripes

If you have been keeping an eye on trends for 2013 you will have seen this one coming – Bold Stripes! Thanks to Marc Jacobs, you can find beautiful, big, bold stripes on the runway and now in most high-street stores. I truly wish I could afford any of the pieces from Marc Jacobs 2013 collection and I’m sure they would be heavenly to wear. However, as my bank book will not allow for one of his fantastic pieces I did a little online shopping and found this dress at Boohoo.com in their Monochrome line.

2013 Trend to Love - Bold Stripes

2013 Trend to Love – Bold Stripes

2013 Trend Alert - Bold Stripes

2013 Trend Alert – Bold Stripes

 

Bold Stripes - Trends 2013

Bold Stripes – Trends 2013

Trend to Love – Bold Stripes: It’s not Marc Jacobs but it’s still a great dress! A little bit body con without being too figure-hugging. I didn’t want the stripes to pick out every unwanted bump! The longer knee-length is both appropriate for my age and the current season and the monochrome of black and white is perfect. Not to mention the vertical stripes lengthen. I’ve stuck with monochrome for the entire look, black, white, silver/grey for everything. White cotton jacket, black handbag and some retro inspired grey and white low-heels.

Classic Bold Stripes in Monochrome

Classic Bold Stripes in Monochrome

Bold Monochrome Stripes for 2013

Bold Monochrome Stripes for 2013

 

Classic Monochrome - Bold Stripes

Classic Monochrome – Bold Stripes

The Accessories: The monochrome theme of the bold stripes continues in the rest of the accessories. I’m wearing my grey sunnies, white shell earrings, black quilted handbag and a pair of low heels that I purchased a few years ago because I loved their retro look and the cut-out sides. My white watch, black onyx necklace from Egypt, and a multi-strand silver chain bracelet finish off the look.

I was a little worried I might look like a prisoner in this look. Especially when we went to this old stone building with arches to shoot. However, I’m thinking it all came together pretty well and if I am a prisoner it is as one to fashion!

What do you think of my 2013 Trend to Love – Bold Stripes look? On trend or should it be locked up?

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

27 responses to “2013 Trends to Love – Bold Stripes

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

