Happy 1st Blogiversary to As Time Goes…Buy!

Happy 1st Blogiversary to As Time Goes…Buy!

It’s my party and I ain’t gonna cry because I don’t want to!

WOW! Hard to believe I have been at this for 365 days…straight. Actually, there have been almost 380 posts! One for every day and a couple of spares when I just missed you all so much I couldn’t be away for 24 hours.

I know both the blog and I have changed a lot in this past year. So much so that I can’t even imagine what the coming year might have in store.

Happy 1st Blogiversary, As Time Goes...Buy!

Happy 1st Blogiversary, As Time Goes…Buy!

So for a bit of fun, please find a reprint of my first ever blog post from exactly one year ago!

********************************************************************************************************

Well, here goes. For those of you who know me, you know I love fashion.

What’s so unusual about that some might ask? I am a girl after all! The thing is, I am a middle-aged “girl” who has always loved fashion but only in the past couple of years have I begun to indulge in my passion. So really, that makes me a middle-aged woman, who works for a living and why would anyone want to read what I have to say about fashion? Bloody good question!

The interesting part comes when I decide that I have spent a lot of money on clothes over the past year, and maybe the fashion mister (my husband), always saying, “how many pairs of orange shoes do you need?”, has got me thinking. So I have set myself a challenge…

…today is 8 March, 2012 and I have decided, I will spend the next 90 days wearing only what is in my closet! That’s right, for the next three months I will not buy a single pair of new shoes, Ralph Lauren pants, Target t-shirts or any other item that can be called clothing or accessories!

I’m sure I will still spend hours looking at items on Shopbop.com, Shoetrend.com.au and all my other favourite sites and in fact will likely share any great finds with you, my dearest friends and fashionistas!

The plan is to also include some photos along the way. What I wore today, how I manipulated the summer/autumn wardrobe to work for winter (it is after all getting colder down here in Victoria, Australia).

See, I kind of think, “if I can’t buy clothing, then I can write about it”.

Hope you find something fun or interesting. Please feel free to share your thoughts or comments and especially your pics!

As Time Goes, I will once again BUY!

*******************************************************************************************************

The lovely Bee at Nice and Pretty was the first person to leave me a message on that very first post! Thanks Bee for sticking with me this entire year!

The gorgeous CokaRabbit was one of my very first followers who continues to drop me encouraging words on my journey.

There wasn’t even a pic in the first post…AND goodness knows I broke my shopping fast as soon as I reached 90 days! But here I am, growing as a blogger, still loving fashion and glad to have all of you in my life!

It’s been a fantastic year, I think we’ll keep at this!

Happy 1st Blogiversary to As Time Goes…Buy (ME)!

I think I’ll go buy myself something pretty for the party.

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

60 responses to “Happy 1st Blogiversary to As Time Goes…Buy!

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinReniΓ©

Christin ReniΓ©

