Now and Later – Shorts for Cooler Weather

If only this version of Now and Later were much later! Unfortunately, yesterdays now look was actually from about 10 days ago and today’s later look is actually from this weekend…Saturday to be exact. It was needed for the cooler weather.

And I am NOT a happy camper about the cooling weather!

Which is part of the reason I refused to put away the shorts and opted to defy Mother Nature‘s changing attitude.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shorts – Later: If only it were much later! So, these are the same shorts from Boohoo.com as the pair in yesterday’s post but I have layered up the look to make it more appropriate for cooler weather. Unfortunately, it really was cooler over the weekend. Luckily, by putting together this look I didn’t have to give up my hope for a few more warm days and pack the shorts away. In fact, thanks to this look, I may not pack the shorts away at all!

Again I have played off the gold tones of the shorts and matched it with a Hermes inspired thrift-shop find, topped by a lightly metallic gold sweater, also purchased at the thrift-shop. Which makes this one of the most reasonably priced looks I could possible put together. The shirt is actually a couple of sizes too big but works great under things, so I didn’t mind spending $5 AUD on it.

The Accessories: You may recall that while in Spain I purchased a few pairs of tights. These are one of those. I loved the chevron effect and that the colours were neutral because they can be worn with a lot of what I already own. I also bought the neutral suede ankle boots while in Spain, and while I love my high-heels, sometimes a flat boot is perfect. I’ve also chosen to use my Coach hand-bag with this look and worked with a mix of gold, copper and brass jewelry to mix metals and use all the tones from the shirt.

I think this is a fairly laid-back look but I will be wearing it to work as the cold weather sets in.

What do you think? Have you changed your mind about wearing shorts in the cooler weather?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

8 responses to “Now and Later – Shorts for Cooler Weather

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Before you get dressed