What to Wear on Holiday

I’d like to thank Liz for asking me what I recommend for her to wear on her upcoming holiday. She is heading to the Northern Hemisphere/Europe in June which will be summer. So here are my recommendation on what to wear on holiday.

First of all, Liz, I’m sorry you only asked for one look but I couldn’t decide which was better so I have my two favourites for you!

What to Wear on Holiday - On the Plane

What to Wear on Holiday – On the Plane

On the Plane and Off: There are so many things about this look that I think are perfect for going on holiday. Starting at the bottom and working our way up – neutral coloured ballet flats – easy to take off and put on so if you are travelling through an airport that requires you to take you shoes off for security screening, you can slip on and off. They are comfortable to slip off during a long flight and forgiving enough to put on at the end of a long flight when your feet may be a little swollen. Plus, they will be handy for all the walking you will be doing while away on your holiday!

A long skirt – I like one in jersey that is wrinkle resistant! Good for the plane because it will look just as good when you disembark and it will keep your legs warm on the flight. While you are on holiday you can mix and match with t-shirts for a casual look or a dressier top when you need something nice to wear.  A neutral coloured t-shirt – again, layers for staying warm on the plane and good for mixing and matching while on holiday. I usually make sure I have one long-sleeved one with me in case we run into cold weather or I get a little too much sun one day. A cardigan – neutral or bright, doesn’t matter, as long as you have the option to layer. I also like wearing the cardigan buttoned up without another shirt when going out to dinner because it is a little dressy and keeps your arms warm if the AC is on full at the restaurant. It’s also good to throw over your shoulders for a late stroll along the beach. A VERY BIG scarf – perfect for layering – practically a must have for Europe and ideal for keeping warm on the plane. Once you get to your destination you can use it as a bathing suit cover, wrap and tie as a dress or sarong and if you check out my post on turning your scarf into a vest it can make a statement. Not to mention you can tie it around your waist as a belt, your shoulders as a wrap or your head as a means to control curly hair. I usually pack two – four scarves for more than 2 weeks away.

Another bonus to all these items is that if they need a wash they can be done in the hotel room and they all dry quickly.

And you have to take at least one large handbag that can be worn across the body and that will keep everything you need including a camera inside so you can head out for a day of sight-seeing prepared.

What to Wear on Holiday

What to Wear on Holiday

Another Holiday Option: Again, the colours don’t really matter, it’s about being able to mix and match. You’ll not it’s the same flats and handbag as the previous photo. I like to make sure if I am facing warmish weather that I have a pair of cotton pants that are either ankle or three-quarter length. I do tend to pack ankle-length because they can be rolled up. I have a khaki pair as well as white and these red ones, any or all could make the cut. For our month in Spain it was this red pair and the khaki ones. Then I have a graphic print tank top. It looks great without the jacket and works well when the weather gets a bit on the hot side. A plain tank would work just as well but I like to add a little personality. A light weight cotton jacket is perfect for layering and a neutral colour or one selected to mix and match with most of your holiday wardrobe is the best option. I like to roll the sleeves up because it is a little more laid back and makes me feel like I”m on holiday. Finish it off with one of the mandatory scarves. I would really suggest being creative with your scarves and how you tie them! You’ll be surprised how much more room you have in your suitcase if you use them to change-up your look.

Plus, if you are on a long trip you can always buy a new scarf to change things up more!

Usually, I would share a recipe with you at this point but hey…if you are on holiday hopefully someone else is cooking for you!

Hope this helped Liz…or at least gave you some ideas about what to wear on holiday!

Any thoughts from the rest of you? What do you think is mandatory for holidays?

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

14 responses to “What to Wear on Holiday

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

