Playing Tag

Sometimes, it is good to be silly and to have a bit of fun. The Fashion Mister always says, “silliness begets silliness” so you can thank Em at “Confessions of a Shopoholic” for this silliness! It’s time to have some fun playing tag!

 

 

Steampunk Inspiration

Steampunk Inspiration

 

 

Would you consider yourself a shopoholic?

 

 

Really? No, but I can name about a dozen people who would argue that point! I say no because I can go into a store and not buy anything…especially if they have poorly made clothing. Although I LOVE to shop, if I say I’m a shopoholic someone may try to force me into some 12 step program to get me to quit…and I just can’t do that!

 

 

How would you classify your style?

 

 

Classic with a twist. I tend to like tailored or fitted items and then add a bit of personality to the look by trying to add something unexpected. Of course sometimes I’m far more successful at that than others. Although, I have to tell you that I have this secret hidden desire to go all “Steampunk”! Would that be unexpected?!

 

 

What store can you NOT leave without buying something?

 

 

Lately my credit card statement might lead one to believe it’s Ralph Lauren…however, it’s more likely Target. If it’s not an item of clothing, then it’s a scarf or towels, or even glassware!

 

 

Target HQ

Target HQ (Photo credit: smcgee)

Where do you find the best deals?

 

 

Tough question. It really does depend on what I am looking for, however, it’s amazing how many compliments I get on things I do buy from Target. When overseas I tend to try to get to at least one outlet mall to purchase designer stuff. This is especially useful when shopping in the opposite hemisphere because things for my coming season will be marked way down as close-out. Which also makes TJ Maxx and Ross Dress for Less good for bargains when I am in the US. I’m also a bit of an online shopper and like to shop the sale sections of Shopbop.com, theiconic.com.au, Boohoo.com and second-hand or thrift shops. You just need to be aware of the sizing differences between the US, Australia and England as well as vintage tends to run small so I can’t just buy a medium because chances are pretty high that a medium from the 50s or 60s isn’t going to fit.

 

 

What designer are you willing to splurge on?

 

 

I kind of answered this one yesterday in my “I’m Loving” series…and above. I will splurge on Ralph Lauren because they are classic and timeless pieces that I know are going to be a great fit for my shape. AND, the pants are ALWAYS long enough. Which really can be a massive problem when you are a tall person who likes wearing heels!

 

 

Ralph Lauren's Window

Ralph Lauren’s Window (Photo credit: garryknight)

Do you have a “go to” shopping outfit?

 

 

Nope, I can shop in anything and at anytime! If I know I am going shopping, I try to wear stuff that is easy to get in and out of so I can try lots of things on.

 

 

What is your “guilty pleasure”? (not including clothes)

 

 

I’m thinking you are going to say that shoes, handbags and scarves count as clothes? Other guilty pleasures would have to be perfume, I currently have three different fragrances from the Chanel Boutique (crazy expensive) and, I love a beautiful cocktail…yes, I am one of those people who will pay $20 for a great drink.

 

 

What is one piece of clothing you can’t live without?

 

 

A really great, supportive bra! You may be laughing, but I can tell you if you lose 50 kg (100+ lbs) AND are closing in on 50…a good bra is a necessity if you want your clothes to fit properly!

 

 

Who is your style icon?

 

 

WOW! Hard one. Old, old school would be the usual…Katherine Hepburn (no not Audrey – she was a little too girlie for me), I liked the feminine and masculine mix Katherine Hepburn worked. Just a little old-school, Catherine Deneuve. Yep, another Catherine but definitely a classic. For modern, probably Olivia Palmero, because she does classic with a twist so well.

 

English: Catherine Deneuve Français : Catherin...

English: Catherine Deneuve Français : Catherine Deneuve (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay, now to pass on the fun of playing tag!

 

 

Natasha at Free UR Closet

 

 

Caroline at Girl in the Yellow Dress

 

 

and

 

 

Vanessa at Rant and Roll

 

 

TAG! You’re it!

 

 

 

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

10 responses to “Playing Tag

  • Vanessa Woznow

    I am SO excited to do this! Also, I want to go shopping with you so, so much. I loved reading this, and I love it even more than you are a Katherine and not an Audrey (we gals need to stick together!) x

    • astimegoesbuy

      Excellent! I can’t wait to see what your answers are.
      When you are traveling the world circuit for comedians and get to the Melbourne Comedy Festival we will do lots of shopping!
      I didn’t even think you would know who Katherine Hepburn was!! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • caroline

    Ha! Great post. Love this.

  • fashionmasher

    I think it is safe for me to say I’m not a shopaholic – I still haven’t shopped and it’s the end of March! But oh it’s lovely to be back in the blogosphere – I love long weekends!
    Despite generally being more of an Audrey than a Katherine, I must say I love the Katherine pants look. I blogged about Man Pants often myself and I have a pair of trousers that always make me channel KH.
    And I know what you mean about great shopping at Target. The last shopping I did in 2011 before I started my one year of no shopping was a red and white striped T-shirt (I already had a long-sleeved one and needed to complete my Where’s Wally collection) and a long navy dress that I was wearing at Coorparoo Bowls Club the night the gorgeous big T decided I was the one. Now that is shopping success!

    • astimegoesbuy

      Ceara!
      Welcome back! I have been missing you!
      I thought maybe you had headed off for the shops and had overload and couldn’t return. 🙂
      The fact that you still haven’t shopped is mind boggling to me!
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • FreeUrCloset

    LOL…Love it. Thanks for the tag.
    xo Natasha

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

