Steam Punk – Fun with Fashion

I don’t know if you remember, but not long ago I mentioned my somewhat secret crush on Steam Punk. I like the sense of fun with fashion that is found in the style. Steam punk also has a fair bit of classic in that it looks back to the past…perhaps an alternate past, but the past. Over the past year I have been watching it become slightly more mainstream. Well, only ever so slightly. I mean America’s Next Top Model did a Steam Punk inspired shoot and I have even seen photos from a Steam Punk wedding held here in Ballarat!

As interesting, and fun as find Steam Punk, I have found myself most drawn to the high fashion version. I love seeing what inspires the designers and how they interpret a look. Some of my favourite Steam Punk inspired creations have been from McQueen, Rodarte, Gautier and Louis Vuitton.

So today I am sharing with you photos from my Pinterest board called “Steam Punk-ish”. Hope you enjoy.

You know…maybe it’s the ruffles? Or perhaps the tailoring? Shoot, it could even be the juxtaposition of steam power and the past that gets me.

I am totally enthralled with the look when it is done well.

Maybe it’s just that Steam Punk has fun with fashion!

What do you think of Steam Punk? Have you ever worn it? Would you?

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

20 responses to “Steam Punk – Fun with Fashion

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

