10 Wardrobe Essentials Revisited

Back in July of 2012 I shared with you all my 10 wardrobe essentials. I think it is time to revisit that post.

There are a couple of reasons for the revisit. First, is that some of my favourite classics were in that 10…well it actually turned out to be 11 but who’s counting. Also, I can feel that I am getting ready for a wardrobe challenge of some kind which always inspires me to get back to the basics. So I though over the coming weeks it would be interesting to have a look back at those magic 10 wardrobe essentials. Remind myself why they truly are essentials. See how I have included them in posts since July 2012 and then use them to create some “Essentials” looks to share with you all in hopes that not only can I inspire myself but maybe even a couple of you!

  1. Classic White Button-down Shirt – you can pick them up anywhere at a wide variety of price ranges. This one happens to be from Country Road. Sorry it’s a bit wrinkled…I had just worn it to work!
  2. Classic Black Pants – again, any price range but I recommend buying the best you can afford with all of these items because you will wear them to death. This pair I have had for years and love. They are from Ralph Lauren (bought at the outlet store, regular price $399 on sale for $79).
  3. Classic White T-shirt – any style collar is fine. It just needs to be one that you are comfortable wearing. This one is Mossimo, bought on my last trip to the US for $3…yes, $3…I bought a couple!
  4. Blue Jeans – Even though coloured denim is so hot right now, nothing beats a classic pair of blue jeans. You’ll recognize this pair as my beloved high-waisted, bell-bottomed J Brand jeans that I purchased last year from Shopbop.com at half their normal retail price!
  5. The Little Black Dress – I did a whole series using this dress called 7 Looks x 7 Days. That is how versatile it is! – Purchased from a boutique in Hong Kong for under $100 (you may remember this is the dress the lady thought I was “too big” for and it ended up fitting me perfectly).
  6. Pencil Skirt – normally I would recommend either black or nude to make sure it works with the other items and remains flexible but I had this one made in Hong Kong and specifically choose the fabric because it is black, white and nude so it will go with everything!
  7. Tailored Suit – black would work just as well as this nude one I had made in Hong Kong. If you are in Hong Kong, I highly recommend seeing a reputable tailor to have suits and skirts made. I was excited when the tailor I chose had photos of Anthony Bourdain on the wall! Seems I just missed him filming a segment there my about a week. They also had Bill Clinton but that’s not as cool as Anthony Bourdain.
  8. Black Handbag – this is the handbag from my lust have list – cost $99.
  9. Black Shoes – a mid height heel is most versatile but as I predominately wear heels most of my pants are tailored for a higher heel. This pair is Prada, bought on sale for $250. Buy a pair that works for your budget but make sure they are very comfortable because you be wearing them a lot.
  10. Black Belt – this one happens to be a medium width as I find it most versatile. Plus I like that the buckle is a little bit bigger so it adds some personality to a look. Pretty sure I bought this one at Target, so it had to be reasonably priced.
  11. BONUS ITEM – Black Leather Jacket – If your budget doesn’t allow for leather you could go for vinyl/plastic/faux but I would recommend using a denim jacket instead. So leather or denim the whole idea is to provide a layer and make it a bit casual.

So those are my 10 wardrobe essentials revisited, plus the bonus item. Later in the week We’ll look back at some of the ways I have incorporated these essentials into my wardrobe over the past 9 months and then we’ll see what new looks I can come up with!

Wish me luck!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

7 responses to “10 Wardrobe Essentials Revisited

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

Jillaroo Jess

Memoirs of a country bumpkin..

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

