What to Wear – Business Drinks/Dinner

Next in the ongoing series “What to Wear” – we take a look at business drinks/dinner. This can be a tough one! How do you find the right balance between business and drinks??

Can you even really blend the two?

I say, “yes, you can”. BUT, you need to tread carefully here!

Nothing is more unprofessional than a too short skirt, too low-cut top, or you falling off your heels from too much drink. My thought, keep it very close to what you might actually wear to work. Just add a little more colour or pattern or something of interest to liven your look up a bit.

The Look: As an homage to the work appropriate suit I have gone with a look that incorporates a jacket. However, this jacket has a little fun to it. Not only is the lime green and brown print very retro but the Nehru style collar is very reminiscent of the 70s. The pop of the lime green lining adds a bit of fun to rolled up cuffs. Still working a little on the vintage feel, I have on a pair of winter white, Halston Vintage, high-waist, bell-bottomed pants. The shirt is a Country Road, olive-green piece that I recently purchased at an op-shop for about $5. The whole look is kind of suit, and kind of tailored but with just enough variance to the business suit to keep it fun.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Accessories: Here I continued the play on formal business attire by layering on a few strands of pearls and a strand of Peridot to accent the lime green. My retro shell earrings, a vintage “gator” skin handbag and a pair of snake-skin green heels brings it all together.

The Drinks Part of Business Drinks: Seriously, if it is more business related meeting – drink water. If you think you must have a drink to be social – go for one glass of sparkling or stick with a lighter wine. Most of these business things don’t last more than a couple of hours and if you have one glass of bubbles and then one glass of water you have probably made it through the time.

Do not – I repeat – DO NOT get messy with your drinking! It’s a poor reflection on you and the company/business you work for.

How do you dress for business related drinks? Do you partake or not?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

16 responses to “What to Wear – Business Drinks/Dinner

  • kittehluvs

    great outfit and tips. I also love the location you shot your photos!

  • joelleharris

    Lovely outfit, I think you got the balance right. I’m with you on the ‘drinks’ one is plenty for a business event. Great photos too!

  • DeDivahDeals

    I love that jacket and your are werking those poses Miss Lady!

  • Sarah

    I personally veer more towards the evening and away from the work in my dress (somewhere between the two, not all the way into evening), but take care to keep my behaviour very business (controlled, no drinking, or certainly not more than 2 drinks, etc). My dress might well be business, but with fab shoes I would never wear for work, or vice versa. It does depend on the event though. Some evening events are really work, in which case I would be strictly work in every respect. But I do go to some evening events that are not work, despite being work-related, hence my slightly different approach.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Totally makes sense Sarah!
      I have a function that I will be attending because of work next week.
      It is an after five kind of thing so I will be dressed more along the after five line than the work line.
      However, as I am representing my hospital, the drinking will be kept to the minimum! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • reversecommuter

    Great post!
    So very true on the over-imbibing … just ask Reese Ritherspoon!

  • caroline

    It’s funny I’ve never (except for a very short time) worked in a formal field but I always like these posts…just in case! I love your pants.

    • astimegoesbuy

      Thanks Caroline!
      I love them too. Got them when they were 70% off at Shopbop.com a couple of years ago.
      I learned a long time ago, while working in a predominately male industry that maintaining a professional dress code when around work colleagues is a good way to go.
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • Vanessa

    You look amazing! That coat is just too cool. And seriously my hat is off to you for the white pants. I rarely (if ever) don white pants (or anything really) because I either a.) look like a specter or b.) SPILL ALL THE THINGS.

    • astimegoesbuy

      I used to be notorious for spilling on white shirts but something happened in my 40s and it seemed to stop being a problem.
      So there is a lot more white in my wardrobe than ever before.
      I just have to remind the Fashion Mister not to wash my whites with anything else! 🙂
      Cheers,
      Laura

  • vintagefrenchchic

    Great bag! VintageFrenchChic stamped approved!! : )

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

