I’m Loving…Melbourne!

Yep, I’m STILL loving Melbourne!

It is after all one of my top five cities in the world. And this weekend was just more reason to love it! If we don’t count the ANZAC Day football. But then the fact that my team lost isn’t Melbourne’s fault. Thursday was a public holiday and the Fashion Mister and I took Friday off so we could spend some time in one of our favourite cities.

We played tourist a bit. My sister and niece are coming over from the US for Christmas and we decided to check out a hotel and see what all was in walking distance. While wandering around we found another of Melbourne’s cool little lane-ways getting a make-over.

When we first walked past it, I’m pretty sure I got high just from smelling the fumes wafting out the end of the lane. You see it really is undergoing a transformation and there were several taggers/artists down the lane getting their paint on. When we walked by it the second time about an hour later, it was safe enough to step inside and get a few shots without fulling contaminating my lungs.

The Look: It’s not really grunge. This look really doesn’t have a specific style. It’s just what I wear on the weekend! It started with my J Brand bell-bottom jeans and a floral cotton button-down from H&M. The jeans were bought from Shopbob.com two years ago and the shirt from H&M the last time I was in the US also about two years ago. Because the weather is beginning to cool I opted for my faux-fur vest to keep the wind out.

Also mandatory for the time of year, a scarf. This one was purchased last year when in Melbourne for the Spring Fashion Festival. The blue and grey of the scarf played well with the blue and grey in the print on the shirt, which allowed for the print clashing. Because the J Brand jeans are EXTREMELY long, I had to wear high heels and the best pair I own for walking around are my Wittner sneaker heels that I also bought last year during the Spring Fashion Festival. My good old quilted black handbag and some silver jewelry finished off the look.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While we were wandering around town I FINALLY found a pair of Converse that I had to have. I’ll share them with you later.

We met up with some friends for dinner at a Thai restaurant called Lemongrass. The food was fantastic! I had soft-shell crab and a totally amazing lychee martini! YUM!

Just more reasons that I’m STILL loving Melbourne!

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

10 responses to “I’m Loving…Melbourne!

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

