How to Wear the Vintage Vibe

As promised yesterday, today I am sharing with you one of my “how to wear the vintage vibe” looks. This look is VERY 70s and I have to tell you…I L-O-V-E it!

Thanks to the fantastic team at Mitchell Harris Wines for letting me use the wine bar for this shoot. Not only did it mean I got to include my love of vintage but my current fascination with graffiti…and love for Mitchell Harris Wines.

Hopefully you’ll remember my post last week about 7 Reasons Mitchell Harris is my Favourite Wine so there is no need to introduce you to the location…just the look!

The Look: This look absolutely started with the vintage shirt purchased from “Lost & Found” in Melbourne. I loved the print, colour and cut of this shirt. Absolutely everything about it was screaming 70s. So I just went with that vibe! Which meant the bell-bottomed J Brand Jeans were the natural to pair with this shirt. With the 70s vibe going strong I opted for being brave and went full vintage ahead.

Platform shoes! And not just any platforms but blue suede platforms. And not just blue suede platforms but cork-heeled! It couldn’t get much more vintage in a shoe could it?

To finish off the 70s vintage vibe, I’m wearing my owl necklace that belonged to my mother (even though it is a vintage piece we all know how popular owls have been the last couple of years). Some huge gold jangling earrings carried on the free-spirit feeling. Then to keep it a little neutral, a brown leather handbag, plain brown chiffon neck scarf and a brown felt hat. All three subtly saying 70s. A mix of copper, blue and wood bracelets finish the whole look off.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What do you think? Is it too costume or very wearable?

I really want to know what you think of my how to wear the vintage vibe look.

 

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

25 responses to “How to Wear the Vintage Vibe

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

NewLifenStyle

Luxury Life, Travel & Style

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” ― Yves Saint-Laurent

