Trends to Love – Roaring 20s Floral

Yep, more Gatsby inspired dressing by me!

After all, it is a trend to love! This is how I would have done floral in the Roaring 20s. In fact, it works pretty well for 2013. I had envisioned this outfit and planned to wear it for a Fashion Mister shoot, however, I didn’t have a single good idea on where to do the shoot. As you know, last weekend was Heritage Weekend here in Ballarat so the Fashion Mister and I just parked in town and thought we would go into one of the heritage listed buildings that was open for the weekend.

Funny thing was, as we were walking up the Bath Lane, behind Craig’s Royal Hotel this doorway and awning seemed the perfect spot to stop. Which believe it or not, makes it special. Why would a lane-way be special? Well, it happens to pretty much be the spot where the Fashion Mister and I were standing when he proposed.

NO! We weren’t hanging out in the gutter and there was nothing scandalous going on in the lane-way!

We were walking from a restaurant back to our parked car and as we passed the door to the office of a local jewelry designer the Fashion Mister said, “See that door there? We have an appointment with them next week. If you’ll be my wife”. Obviously I said yes. Then we went into the bar at Craig’s Royal to see a friend who worked there as a mixologist to celebrate!

So to me, this isn’t just any old lane-way.

The Look: Definitely inspired by the 20s, just maybe not quite the roaring looks portrayed in the movies. Probably more like what I would imagine the “normal” people of the time would have been wearing. I have had the shirt for a couple of years. Purchased from Glasson’s, I typically wear it with the Ralph Lauren tweed pants from my Heritage Ralph Lauren post earlier in the week. I just found the skirt a few months ago and bought it because it’s the same print as the shirt although in different fabrics, so it looks slightly different. It was marked down to $12 and I knew I wanted to give it a chance to work with the shirt.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Accessories: Naturally the Roaring 20s requires stacks of beads. Long, short, coloured – wear them all! My well-loved copper vintage bracelets and pair of shoes I have had for about 5 years. Purchased about 5 years ago from a local shoe shop because I fell in love with the vintage look of them. I get so many compliments when I wear them. I opted for the graphic clutch as a touch of modern to hopefully keep the look from being too much like a costume and as we headed out the door I grabbed my red cloche hat.

I think it all came together pretty well. I’m not convinced that I like the shirt and skirt together as much as I would have liked. To be honest the skirt is actually a long skirt (maxi) and I hiked it up to just under the bra to get the right length (midi) for the time. I’m probably more likely to continue wearing the shirt as I have with the pants and wear the skirt with a big over-sized sweater and boots. However, I do like the hat with this print and am thinking I need to find myself another cloche hat or two for the coming winter months.

What do you think? A trend to love? Does it work for a roaring 20s floral inspiration?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

15 responses to “Trends to Love – Roaring 20s Floral

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

