No Yellow Rose of Texas Here!

No, not in any way is there a yellow rose of Texas here.

In fact, I don’t like to wear yellow. Mustard, yes. Butter, lemon or sunshine yellow…not for me! However, I did use the thought of the yellow rose of Texas to inspire today’s look. AND I did select a scarf with a small tiny hint of yellow for the connection. However, that is pretty well where the yellow rose stops.

The reference to Texas on the other hand…that is a little more prevalent.

The Look: You may remember this skirt from my posts last year about the gypsy look or my ever-growing collection of maxi-skirts. Well now that the cold has rolled in, this skirt will be back on high rotation. I love the colours, red, orange and a watermelon blend of sixties print magnificence. Someone took the time to make it at home (I can tell from the seams and lack of tag – plus I did work in clothing manufacturing long enough to tell a factory garment). I love that this long skirt gives me a longer look. Cause you know in my mind, the longer (taller) I look then the easier it is to trick your eye into thinking I am leaner! With the sun out and a hint of blue sky today, I opted to wear one of my many cardigans, this one in a watermelon shade, as a shirt to go with the skirt.

The Accessories: I’m pretty sure you have seen all these accessories before. If not, then you are new, because I L-O-V-E each of these items and find MANY opportunities to wear them. My well-worn red cowboy boots. Definitely a staple of the winter months. My red Furla handbag, purchased while shopping in Spain. A little orange, double-wrap watch, purple “gator” bangle, one of my vintage scarves tied a-la-country around my neck, large rose-gold drop earrings and a thin orange belt at the waist.

I have pulled my hair to a low side pony-tail to finish off the tribute to Texas and the country theme.

If you are wondering about the setting, it’s the old cattle yards on the edge of town. Well, not quite the edge of town anymore which is why they have moved.

Even though my look is country inspired, I hope there is enough chic in it to keep it from being too much Country Girl. No yellow rose of Texas here please!

What do you think? Too many rose colours? Or just too girl from the sticks?

About astimegoesbuy

Just a middle-aged woman with a love of fashion trying to have a purchasing fast. Spending 90 days dressing out of what is already in the wardrobe.If I can't shop for clothes, I may as well write about clothes! View all posts by astimegoesbuy

13 responses to “No Yellow Rose of Texas Here!

New research shows that those who leave a comment are 73% more in touch with their inner fashionista than those who don't!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

brown paper belle

food + entertaining + garden + travel

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

msellenorrose

learning to be creative in everyday life

Veloria in Velvet

The street is my runway...

Pierotucci Leather Factory Blog

Italian leather bags and more

Being Zhenya

Style and Beauty Blog by Zhenya Hutson

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Travel Treks and Quests

Travel, Quests, and Adventures off the Beaten Path

Buttons and Birdcages

A vintage style and world travel blog

The Modern Mother's Holy Grail

How to fake a perfect life

LifenStyle

by Rhiannon Duffin

the hearty serving

local. (mostly) organic. delicious.

We Heart Vintage

Everything fabulous in fashion and photography from the 20s through to the 70s and beyond

ChristinRenié

Christin Renié

